Java puzzlers: traps, pitfalls, and corner cases

Front Cover
Addison-Wesley, 2005 - Computers - 282 pages
31 Reviews
"Every programming language has its quirks. This lively book reveals oddities of the Java programming language through entertaining and thought-provoking programming puzzles." --Guy Steele, Sun Fellow and coauthor of The Java" Language Specification "I laughed, I cried, I threw up (my hands in admiration)." --Tim Peierls, president, Prior Artisans LLC, and member of the JSR 166 Expert Group How well do you really know Java? Are you a code sleuth? Have you ever spent days chasing a bug caused by a trap or pitfall in Java or its libraries? Do you like brainteasers? Then this is the book for you! In the tradition of Effective Java", Bloch and Gafter dive deep into the subtleties of the Java programming language and its core libraries. Illustrated with visually stunning optical illusions, Java" Puzzlersfeatures 95 diabolical puzzles that educate and entertain. Anyone with a working knowledge of Java will understand the puzzles, but even the most seasoned veteran will find them challenging. Most of the puzzles take the form of a short program whose behavior isn't what it seems. Can you figure out what it does? Puzzles are grouped loosely according to the features they use, and detailed solutions follow each puzzle. The solutions go well beyond a simple explanation of the program's behavior--they show you how to avoid the underlying traps and pitfalls for good. A handy catalog of traps and pitfalls at the back of the book provides a concise taxonomy for future reference. Solve these puzzles and you'll never again fall prey to the counterintuitive or obscure behaviors that can fool even the most experienced programmers.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
1

Review: Java Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases

User Review  - Kyi Aung - Goodreads

This book needs no introduction. A very fun and insightful read for those who want to master Java. Read full review

Review: Java Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases

User Review  - Stephen Mak - Goodreads

This book is more like a brain teaser than real computer book. Some of the tips are useful but it's more fun to read this book than functional from my point of view. Read full review

Related books

Contents

Introduction
1
Expressive Puzzlers
5
Time for a Change
7
Copyright

98 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

References from web pages

Seeing Shouldn't Be Believing: Solving Java Puzzlers With Google's ...
Joshua Bloch, chief Java technology architect at Google, explores the mysteries of Java puzzlers and optical illusions.
java.sun.com/ developer/ technicalArticles/ Interviews/ bloch2006_qa.html

Java Puzzlers | Linux Magazine
Java Puzzlers. ... Java personalities and experts Click and Hack Type-It present a pack of precocious Java puzzlers for your education and entertainment. ...
www.linux-mag.com/ id/ 1306

Slashdot | Java Puzzlers
Java Puzzlers -- article related to Book Reviews and Java.
books.slashdot.org/ article.pl?sid=05/ 11/ 07/ 1515226

Java Puzzlers - techbookreport
Title: Java Puzzlers. Authors: Joshua Bloch and Neal Gafter. Publisher: Addison Wesley ... 'Java Puzzlers' is unlike any Java book we've seen before. ...
www.techbookreport.com/ tbr0198.html

Joshua Bloch and Neil Gafter to Discuss their New Book 'Java ...
Joshua Bloch and Neil Gafter to Discuss their New Book 'Java Puzzlers' - Events and ... He is coauthor of Java Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases ...
www.send2press.com/ newswire/ 2005-11-1115-005B.shtml

Java Puzzlers' Greatest Hits
Java Puzzlers’ Greatest Hits. 1. Java. TM. Puzzlers’. Greatest Hits. Joshua Bloch. Neal Gafter ..... Java Puzzlers’ Greatest Hits ...
www.nejug.org/ 2005/ include/ puzzlers-greatest-hits.pdf

John O'Conner's Blog: javaone Tokyo '05: Java Puzzlers with Josh ...
javaone Tokyo '05: Java Puzzlers with Josh Bloch and Neal Gafter. Posted by joconner on November 08, 2005 at 11:48 PM | Comments (0) ...
weblogs.java.net/ blog/ joconner/ archive/ 2005/ 11/ javaone_tokyo_0_12.html

Java Puzzlers Greatest Hits
Java Puzzlers Greatest Hits. java puzzlers. ... Java Puzzlers’ Greatest Hits TM Joshua Bloch Neal Gafter 1 Java Puzzlers’ Greatest Hits Introduction • Eight ...
www.scribd.com/ doc/ 271917/ Java-Puzzlers-Greatest-Hits

Weblogs Forum - Java Puzzlers
I've just finished reading "Java Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases" by Joshua Bloch and Neal Gafter (Addison Wesley, 2005). ...
www.artima.com/ forums/ flat.jsp?forum=106& thread=125542

Safari Books Online - 032133678X - Java™ Puzzlers: Traps ...
We gave the first "Java Puzzlers" talk at the Oracle Open World conference ... In the years that followed, we came up with three more "Java Puzzlers" talks ...
my.safaribooksonline.com/ 032133678X/ pref01

About the author (2005)

Joshua Bloch is a Principal Engineer at Google and former Distinguished Engineer at Sun Microsystems. He led the design and implementation of numerous Java platform features including JDK 5 language enhancements and the Java Collections Framework. He is the author of the bestselling, Jolt Award-winning book, Effective Java. He holds a Ph.D. from Carnegie-Mellon University and a B.S. from Columbia.

Bibliographic information