Java puzzlers: traps, pitfalls, and corner cases

Front Cover
Addison-Wesley, 2005 - Computers - 282 pages
37 Reviews
"Every programming language has its quirks. This lively book reveals oddities of the Java programming language through entertaining and thought-provoking programming puzzles." --Guy Steele, Sun Fellow and coauthor of The Java" Language Specification "I laughed, I cried, I threw up (my hands in admiration)." --Tim Peierls, president, Prior Artisans LLC, and member of the JSR 166 Expert Group How well do you really know Java? Are you a code sleuth? Have you ever spent days chasing a bug caused by a trap or pitfall in Java or its libraries? Do you like brainteasers? Then this is the book for you! In the tradition of Effective Java", Bloch and Gafter dive deep into the subtleties of the Java programming language and its core libraries. Illustrated with visually stunning optical illusions, Java" Puzzlersfeatures 95 diabolical puzzles that educate and entertain. Anyone with a working knowledge of Java will understand the puzzles, but even the most seasoned veteran will find them challenging. Most of the puzzles take the form of a short program whose behavior isn't what it seems. Can you figure out what it does? Puzzles are grouped loosely according to the features they use, and detailed solutions follow each puzzle. The solutions go well beyond a simple explanation of the program's behavior--they show you how to avoid the underlying traps and pitfalls for good. A handy catalog of traps and pitfalls at the back of the book provides a concise taxonomy for future reference. Solve these puzzles and you'll never again fall prey to the counterintuitive or obscure behaviors that can fool even the most experienced programmers.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2

Review: Java Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases

User Review  - Kyi Aung - Goodreads

This book needs no introduction. A very fun and insightful read for those who want to master Java. Read full review

Flipkart has forgotten their primary business BOOKS!!!

User Review  - Ankit - Flipkart

Have you guys forgotten your primary business of selling books. Neither I am able to purchase this one nor Effective Java. Guys don't just ignore your roots, it might cost you in long run. PS: I have ... Read full review

Contents

Introduction
1
Expressive Puzzlers
5
Time for a Change
7
Copyright

98 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (2005)

Joshua Bloch is a Principal Engineer at Google and former Distinguished Engineer at Sun Microsystems. He led the design and implementation of numerous Java platform features including JDK 5 language enhancements and the Java Collections Framework. He is the author of the bestselling, Jolt Award-winning book, Effective Java. He holds a Ph.D. from Carnegie-Mellon University and a B.S. from Columbia.

Bibliographic information