Bodily Secrets

Front Cover
Penguin, 2007 - Love stories, English - 131 pages
1 Review

Wealthy widow Norah O'Neill wonders if she will ever marry again. When her son decides to close the family's failing toy factory, the manager, a decent man who dances the quickstep beautifully, becomes unemployed. Suddenly, Norah sees her chance for happiness, in a new venture of her own.

United by the theme of love, the writings in the Great Loves series span over two thousand years and vastly different worlds. Readers will be introduced to love's endlessly fascinating possibilities and extremities: romantic love, platonic love, erotic love, gay love, virginal love, adulterous love, parental love, filial love, nostalgic love, unrequited love, illicit love, not to mention lost love, twisted and obsessional love . . .

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Cariola - LibraryThing

A fine little collection of five unusual love stories, all very Irish in content and tone. In "The Day We Got Drunk on Cake," Mike is looking for love in all the wrong places--and constantly ringing ... Read full review


The Day We Got Drunk on Cake
Lovers of Their Time
Bodily Secrets

2 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

William Trevor was born in 1928 at Mitchelstown, County Cork, and he spent his childhood in provincial Ireland. He attended a number of Irish schools and later Trinity College, Dublin. He is a member of the Irish Academy of Letters. He has written many novels, including The Old Boys (1964), winner of the Hawthornden Prize; The Children of Dynmouth (1976) and Fools of Fortune (1983), both winners of the Whitbread Fiction Award; The Silence in the Garden (1988), winner of the Yorkshire Post Book of the Year Award; Two Lives (1991), which was shortlisted for the Sunday Express Book of the Year Award and includes the Booker shortlisted novella Reading Turgenev; and Felicia's Journey (1994), which won both the Whitbread Book of the Year and the Sunday Express Book of the Year awards. A celebrated short-story writer, William Trevor's latest collection, After Rain, is forthcoming in Penguin. He is also the editor of The Oxford Book of Irish Short Stories (1989). He has written plays for the stage and for radio and television; several of his television plays have been based on his short stories. Most of his books are published by Penguin.

In 1976 William Trevor received the Allied Irish Banks' Prize, and in 1977 was awarded an honorary CBE in recognition of his valuable services to literature. In 1992 he recei

Bibliographic information