East of India

Front Cover
Canelo, Apr 16, 2018 - Fiction - 300 pages
0 Reviews

India, 1940. When Nadine learns that the Indian woman she thought her nanny is, in fact, her mother, she rebels against her English father and he arranges for her to be wed to an Australian merchant many years older. She is whisked off to her new husband's plantation in Malaya but as the Second World War rages throughout the East, Nadine is taken captive by the Japanese. She is held at a camp in Sumatra with other women and forced to entertain the soldiers and satisfy their desires. In the most unlikely circumstances, Nadine finds an ally and protector in a Japanese—American major caught up in the war. The two bond over their conflicted identities and gradually fall in love. But can Nadine survive long enough to find happiness?

Don't miss this emotional and powerful saga about a woman's determination to beat the odds, perfect for fans of Renita D'Silva, Dinah Jefferies and Julia Gregson.


 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages

Contents

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Chapter
Chapter Three
Chapter Four
Chapter Five
Chapter Seven
Chapter Nine
Chapter
Chapter Eleven
Chapter Thirteen
Chapter Fourteen
Chapter Sixteen
Chapter Seventeen
Chapter Eighteen
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2018)

Erica Brown is the pseudonym of a very successful author of women's fiction and crime. She lives in Bath and has one daughter and twin grandchildren one of whom is dead set on becoming a writer.

Bibliographic information