Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things

Front Cover
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Dec 17, 2019 - Young Adult Fiction - 384 pages
In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before
 
Mansfield, Massachusetts, is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburban mothers and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. She’s got her own plans, and they don’t include any prince charming.
 
But as she dives into schoolwork and getting a scholarship for college, Edie finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys strumming for her attention: First, there’s Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend and first love, who’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there’s Henry, the local bad boy and all-around player who’s totally off limits—even if his kisses are chemically addictive.
 
Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help herself from being caught between them. Now, she just has to make sure it isn’t her heart that breaks in the process.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things

User Review  - Publishers Weekly

In her first YA novel, Firkins, a playwright, screenwriter, and comics artist, offers a modernized, prudently pared-down retelling of Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park. Three years after her single mother ... Read full review

Contents

Chapter One
1
Chapter Two
9
Chapter Three
17
Chapter Four
25
Chapter Five
36
Chapter Six
48
Chapter Seven
62
Chapter Eight
71
Chapter TwentyFour
218
Chapter TwentyFive
224
Chapter TwentySix
235
Chapter TwentySeven
246
Chapter TwentyEight
258
Chapter TwentyNine
265
Chapter Thirty
273
Chapter ThirtyOne
281

Chapter Nine
83
Chapter Ten
98
Chapter Eleven
104
Chapter Twelve
112
Chapter Thirteen
118
Chapter Fourteen
128
Chapter Fifteen
139
Chapter Sixteen
151
Chapter Seventeen
159
Chapter Eighteen
166
Chapter Nineteen
174
Chapter Twenty
183
Chapter TwentyOne
192
Chapter TwentyTwo
202
Chapter TwentyThree
210
Chapter ThirtyTwo
291
Chapter ThirtyThree
306
Chapter ThirtyFour
311
Chapter ThirtyFive
319
Chapter ThirtySix
328
Chapter ThirtySeven
338
Chapter ThirtyEight
350
Chapter ThirtyNine
359
Epilogue
369
Back Matter
373
Back Flap
375
Back Cover
376
Spine
377
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2019)

Jacqueline Firkins is a playwright, screenwriter, and comics artist who’s been creating worlds and characters as a set and costume designer for the past twenty years. She’s on the full-time faculty at the University of British Columbia, where she also takes any writing class they’ll let her into. When not writing, drawing, or sewing, she can be found running by the ocean, listening to earnest love songs, and pretending her dog understands every word she says.
Twitter: @JFkillsdarlings
Instagram: @jfkillsdarlings
 

Bibliographic information