Holding: A Novel

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, 2017 - Fiction - 272 pages
1 Review
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
A New York Times Bestseller

From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the “sparkling and impish” (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime.

The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke—a former lover of two different inhabitants—the village’s dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community’s worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret.

In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore—with searing honesty—the complexities and contradictions that make us human.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
9
Section 3
15
Section 4
21
Section 5
27
Section 6
33
Section 7
41
Section 8
55
Section 17
141
Section 18
145
Section 19
159
Section 20
163
Section 21
167
Section 22
175
Section 23
199
Section 24
213

Section 9
69
Section 10
73
Section 11
85
Section 12
93
Section 13
101
Section 14
115
Section 15
125
Section 16
133
Section 25
223
Section 26
231
Section 27
237
Section 28
251
Section 29
261
Section 30
263
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2017)

Graham Norton is the award-winning host of The Graham Norton Show, one of the most popular programs on BBC America. He is the author of the bestselling memoirs So Me and The Life and Loves of a He Devil. He lives in London and is the author of the novels Holding and A Keeper.

Bibliographic information