I Never Lie: A compelling psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat

Front Cover
Canelo, Jun 11, 2018 - Fiction - 300 pages
‘A distinctive and gripping thriller that rushes towards a truly unpredictable finale’ The Sun

Alex South is a high-functioning alcoholic who is teetering on the brink of oblivion, her career as a television journalist hanging by a thread following a drunken on-air rant. When a series of murders occur within a couple of miles of her East London home she is given another chance to prove her skill and report the unfolding events. She thinks she can control the drinking, but soon she finds gaping holes in her memory, and wakes to find she’s done things she can’t recall. As the story she’s covering starts to creep into her own life, is Alex a danger only to herself – or to others?

This gripping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Fiona Barton, BA Paris and Clare Mackintosh.

Praise for I Never Lie:

'Like Girl on a Train but better' Reader review

This book was amazing! I really struggled to put it down for long enough to breathe’ 5* Reader review

'This book was a great read. I loved the layout of the plot and the way the story unravelled itself. The characters were very relatable.' Elisabeth Carpenter, author of 11 Missed Calls

‘A psychological thriller bursting with local colour and fizz’ Hackney Citizen

'A real page-turner with a flawed modern woman at the heart of it. Jody Sabral knows the business of news gathering and of constructing a great crime novel.' P.D. Viner, author of The Last Winter of Dani Lancing

'Suspenseful and chilling, it really grabbed me from the first page!' Lisa Hall, author of Tell Me No Lies

'A compulsive, easy read that I sped through' Christina McDonald, author of The Night Olivia Fell

'Really enjoyed reading this. I could sense the frustration of the narrator as she battled with the lure of alcohol and I found the way in which this thwarted her abilities not only to do her job, but to make sense of events, very effective... A great read and I look forward to reading more by Jody Sabral' Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend

'This is one of the most original plots I have ever read...Jody Sabral and Canelo have a best seller on their hands' Nigel Adams Bookworm

This book is something else... pure genius’ 5* Nicki’s Life of Crime

'A twisted tale of addiction and denial. Easy to read, fast paced and as addictive as it's content.’ Reader review

‘This is my first book by Jody Sabral, but it definitely won't be my last’ 4* Reader reviews

 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - nicx27 - LibraryThing

I've said it before: I love an unreliable narrator. And we have one here in Alex South. She's a journalist and an alcoholic in denial. Having moved to London from Manchester after splitting with her ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33

18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2018)

Jody Sabral is based between the South Coast and London, where she works as a Foreign Desk editor and video producer at the BBC. She is a graduate of the MA in Crime Fiction at City University, London. Jody worked as a journalist in Turkey for ten years, covering the region for various international broadcasters. She self-published her first book Changing Borders in 2012 and won the CWA Debut Dagger in 2014 for her second novel The Movement. In addition to working for the BBC, Jody also writes for the Huffington Post, Al–Monitor and Brics Post.

Bibliographic information