I Never Lie

Front Cover
Canelo, Jun 11, 2018 - Fiction - 234 pages
 

An alcoholic TV reporter investigating a series of murders begins to lose her grip on reality in this gripping psychological thriller.

Alex South is a high-functioning alcoholic who is teetering on the brink of oblivion, her career as a television journalist hanging by a thread following a drunken on-air rant. When a series of murders occur within a couple of miles of her East London home, she is given another chance to prove her skill and report the unfolding events. She thinks she can control the drinking, but soon she finds gaping holes in her memory, and wakes to find she’s done things she can’t recall. As the story she’s covering starts to creep into her own life, is Alex a danger only to herself—or to others?

Perfect for fans of Fiona Barton, BA Paris, and Clare Mackintosh.

Praise for I Never Lie

“A real page-turner with a flawed modern woman at the heart of it. Jody Sabral knows the business of news gathering and of constructing a great crime novel.” —P. D. Viner, author of The Last Winter of Dani Lancing 

“Suspenseful and chilling, it really grabbed me from the first page!” —Lisa Hall, author of Tell Me No Lies

“A compulsive, easy read that I sped through.” —Christina McDonald, author of The Night Olivia Fell

 “A great read. I loved the layout of the plot and the way the story unravelled itself. The characters were very relatable.” —Elisabeth Carpenter, author of 11 Missed Calls 

“A distinctive and gripping thriller that rushes towards a truly unpredictable finale.” —The Sun

From inside the book

Contents

14
15
16
17
18
20
21
22
23
24
25
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
Epilogue
Acknowledgements
About the Author
If He Wakes Copyright
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2018)

Jody Sabral is based between the South Coast and London, where she works as a Foreign Desk editor and video producer at the BBC. She is a graduate of the MA in Crime Fiction at City University, London. Jody worked as a journalist in Turkey for ten years, covering the region for various international broadcasters. She self-published her first book Changing Borders in 2012 and won the CWA Debut Dagger in 2014 for her second novel The Movement. In addition to working for the BBC, Jody also writes for the Huffington Post, Al–Monitor and Brics Post.

Bibliographic information