Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Dec 4, 2018 - Fiction - 384 pages
From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.

Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker—actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world—in Josephine Baker’s Last Dance.

In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page.

With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Whisper1 - LibraryThing

I read this book in one sitting. While I heard of Josephine Baker, I did not know the details of her life. Born in severe poverty to a non existent (perhaps white) father, and a very verbally abusive ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - wagner.sarah35 - LibraryThing

I'm not sure why I haven't heard more of Josephine Baker, because her life is too fascinating for only one novelist to tackle it. Growing up in poverty and segregated St. Louis, Josephine rises to ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
7
Section 3
9
Section 4
23
Section 5
25
Section 6
34
Section 7
53
Section 8
55
Section 24
210
Section 25
221
Section 26
225
Section 27
230
Section 28
234
Section 29
246
Section 30
261
Section 31
273

Section 9
69
Section 10
77
Section 11
93
Section 12
103
Section 13
105
Section 14
113
Section 15
127
Section 16
136
Section 17
156
Section 18
165
Section 19
180
Section 20
189
Section 21
194
Section 22
196
Section 23
203
Section 32
285
Section 33
295
Section 34
303
Section 35
309
Section 36
317
Section 37
319
Section 38
323
Section 39
333
Section 40
342
Section 41
354
Section 42
360
Section 43
363
Section 44
367
Section 45
368
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2018)

Author and journalist Sherry Jones is best known for her international bestseller The Jewel of Medina. She is also the author of The Sword of Medina, Four Sisters, All Queens, The Sharp Hook of Love, and the novella White Heart. She lives in Spokane, WA, where, like Josephine Baker, she enjoys dancing, singing, eating, advocating for equality, and drinking champagne. Visit her online at AuthorSherryJones.com and at Facebook.com/SherryJonesFanpage.

Bibliographic information