Oasis: A Novel

Front Cover
Imprint, Jan 7, 2020 - Young Adult Fiction - 320 pages

In this young adult thriller for fans of Lost and The Twilight Zone, a group of teens are saved when they come across a mysterious oasis. But who will save them from the oasis?

Alif had exciting summer plans: working on her father’s archeological dig site in the desert with four close friends ... and a very cute research assistant. Then the sandstorm hit.

Their camp wiped away, Alif and the others find themselves lost on the sands, seemingly doomed ... until they find the oasis. It has everything they need: food, water, and shade—and mysterious ruins that hide a deadly secret. As reality begins to shift around them, they question what’s real and what’s a mirage.

The answers turn Alif and her friends against each other, and they begin to wonder if they’ve truly been saved. And while it was easy to walk into the oasis, it may be impossible to leave ...

An Imprint Book

“Will stick to readers’ skin long after the final page is turned.” —Booklist (starred review)

“de Becerra successfully builds a fraught tension throughout the book that mirrors the characters’ feelings as reality leaves them behind . . . well worth the payoff.” —The Bulletin

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - PardaMustang - LibraryThing

As promised, here's my longer review for Oasis. I adored the archaeology aspect! I wish we had been able to take more of a gander at the actual dig site, and artefacts. My first degree was in ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - sennebec - LibraryThing

I liked the story line, but the characters seemed too immature and labile for my taste. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2020)

Katya de Becerra was born in Russia, studied in California, lived in Peru, and then stayed in Australia long enough to become a local. She was going to be an Egyptologist when she grew up, but instead she earned a PhD in Anthropology. Her debut novel was What the Woods Keep.

Bibliographic information