Pretty Straight Guys

Front Cover
Faber & Faber, Limited, 2004 - Great Britain - 336 pages
0 Reviews
A coruscating anatomy of New Labour Britain, spin and corruption in the tradition of No Logo and Stupid White Men.

In Pretty Straight Guys Nick Cohen, one of the most exciting journalists of his generation, explores the feeling of angry impotence which has swept modern Britain during the Labour administration. Unlike conventional political books, Pretty Straight Guys shifts focus away from Westminster and into more diverse and unexpected territories of New Labour influence, from America to India. Based on original research and interviews - and an instinct for stories other journalists ignore - this book combines contemporary history with satire and polemic. Based on the hope that a well-written argument and a love of storytelling can make the reader see the world afresh, Pretty Straight Guys promises to be one of the most illuminating, controversial and truthful political books of the year.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2004)

Nick Cohen writes for the Observer and New Statesman. A collection of his journalism, Cruel Brittania: Reports on the Sinister and the Preposterous, was published by Verso in 1999. He lives in London with his wife and son.

Bibliographic information