Shadow of a Dark Queen

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Oct 13, 2009 - Fiction - 528 pages
11 Reviews

“An epic reading experience.”

San Diego Union-Tribune


Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Shadow of a dark queen: a novel

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

In the first volume of the "Serpent War Saga,'' the best-selling author of the "Riftwar Saga'' introduces a new twist to an old setting. The planets Kelewan and Midkemia, central to the Riftwar novels, are home to a pair of unlikely heroes who must fight an evil race of serpents. Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Though a bit slow to start, this turned out to be a very exciting book. And while Erik and Roo are not quite as likable as some of Feist's other characters, there were other new characters, like Miranda, that made up for the lack. And the reappearance of some old favorites, like Nakor, helped the book along as well. Starting a new saga with some fresh mysteries and plots, the strands are begging to be tied up in the next books, and it is very tempting to stay up even later and keep reading this series.
It is a bit difficult to review an epic series like this, because even if you don't love a single book, you know how necessary they are for later books...


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Section 6
Section 7
Section 8
Section 15
Section 16
Section 17
Section 18
Section 19
Section 20
Section 21
Section 22

Section 9
Section 10
Section 11
Section 12
Section 13
Section 14
Section 23
Section 24
Section 25
Section 26

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Popular passages

Page 2 - DAYS, when the ball of our vision Had eagles that flew unabashed to sun; When the grasp on the bow was decision, And arrow and hand and eye were one...
Page 141 - On arrival at the camping ground, there was much to be done and little time in which to do it.
Page 401 - Erik he might be the only man remaining awake who was close enough to the head of the column to see the light. He gently reached past de Loungville and nudged the sentry. The man came awake, saying, "What?
Page 166 - Erik realized they were coming to get him. His knees began to shake and he put out a hand to steady himself, pressing his palm against the rough stone.
Page 161 - I should know, because I was on the receiving end of it most of the time. It was only when I caught up with him in size and could defend myself that he left me alone.
Page 118 - The door at the end of the hallway opened and a man entered, flanked by two guards.

About the author (2009)

Raymond E. Feist is the multiple New York Times bestselling author or coauthor of thirty previous books—all but one of which are Riftwar Cycle novels. He lives in San Diego.

Bibliographic information