Shadow of a Dark Queen

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Oct 13, 2009 - Fiction - 528 pages
15 Reviews

“An epic reading experience.”

San Diego Union-Tribune

 

Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ashooles - LibraryThing

I really enjoyed this, especially the beginning. I was very much hooked almost all the way through. The characters were interesting and likeable (especially Roo and Sho Pi) and I really wanted to know ... Read full review

SHADOW OF A DARK QUEEN: Vol. I of the Serpent War Saga

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Feist (The King's Buccaneer, 1992, etc.) returns to the enchanted world of Midkemia to begin a new series, The Serpent War Saga. A blacksmith's apprentice in the town of Ravensburg, young Erik von ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
3
Section 3
35
Section 4
62
Section 5
99
Section 6
120
Section 7
143
Section 8
163
Section 15
301
Section 16
320
Section 17
342
Section 18
363
Section 19
377
Section 20
392
Section 21
411
Section 22
435

Section 9
182
Section 10
202
Section 11
219
Section 12
239
Section 13
257
Section 14
279
Section 23
456
Section 24
495
Section 25
499
Section 26
500
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Popular passages

Page 2 - DAYS, when the ball of our vision Had eagles that flew unabashed to sun; When the grasp on the bow was decision, And arrow and hand and eye were one...
Page 141 - On arrival at the camping ground, there was much to be done and little time in which to do it.
Page 401 - Erik he might be the only man remaining awake who was close enough to the head of the column to see the light. He gently reached past de Loungville and nudged the sentry. The man came awake, saying, "What?
Page 166 - Erik realized they were coming to get him. His knees began to shake and he put out a hand to steady himself, pressing his palm against the rough stone.
Page 161 - I should know, because I was on the receiving end of it most of the time. It was only when I caught up with him in size and could defend myself that he left me alone.
Page 118 - The door at the end of the hallway opened and a man entered, flanked by two guards.

About the author (2009)

Raymond E. Feist is the multiple New York Times bestselling author or coauthor of thirty previous books—all but one of which are Riftwar Cycle novels. He lives in San Diego.

Bibliographic information