Spin the Dawn

Front Cover
Random House Children's Books, Jul 9, 2019 - Young Adult Fiction - 432 pages
"Looking for your next big YA fantasy series? We've got our eye on this stylist blockbuster." --Entertainment Weekly

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.


Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.
     Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.
     And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.
     Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

"Spin the Dawn is proof that casting a wider net not only gives us a fresh story that feels unlike everything else on the shelves beside it but also allows for richer and more nuanced storytelling." —NPR

“All the cutthroat competition of a runway fashion reality show and the thrilling exploits of an epic quest… a stunning tapestry of adventure." —The Washington Post

"What an amazing creation! Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read." --Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - quondame - LibraryThing

A talented tailor who isn't allowed to be a tailor because she's a girl, competes to become the Emperors tailor. She also dyes, spins and weaves, very very quickly. A sorcerer hundreds of years old, a ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Faith_Murri - LibraryThing

I received this eARC from Alfred A. Knopf Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of this book in any way. I tried to like this. I really did. Dnf at 19 ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
5
Section 2
18
Section 3
32
Section 4
40
Section 5
55
Section 6
64
Section 7
73
Section 8
85
Section 23
234
Section 24
248
Section 25
258
Section 26
270
Section 27
278
Section 28
285
Section 29
296
Section 30
305

Section 9
92
Section 10
99
Section 11
106
Section 12
114
Section 13
125
Section 14
135
Section 15
146
Section 16
154
Section 17
163
Section 18
175
Section 19
188
Section 20
201
Section 21
208
Section 22
218
Section 31
313
Section 32
331
Section 33
345
Section 34
353
Section 35
360
Section 36
371
Section 37
379
Section 38
389
Section 39
397
Section 40
405
Section 41
409
Section 42
421
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2019)

ELIZABETH LIM grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area, where she was raised on a hearty diet of fairy tales, myths, and songs. Before becoming an author, Elizabeth was a professional film and video game composer, and she still tends to come up with her best book ideas when writing near a piano. An alumna of Harvard College and the Juilliard School, she now lives in New York City with her husband and her daughter.

Spin the Dawn is her first original novel, and its companion in the Blood of Stars series, Unravel the Dusk, will be published in summer 2020. For more information, visit her online (elizabethlim.com) or follow her on Twitter (@LizLim) or Instagram (@elimpix).

Bibliographic information