The Chromatic Fourth During Four Centuries of Music

Front Cover
Clarendon Press, 1997 - Music - 262 pages
The "Chromatic Fourth" is a musical pattern of six notes moving by step up or down the scale. In this essentially practical study Peter Williams draws on his extensive knowledge of the music of four centuries to investigate and analyze over 200 examples taken from composers ranging from Bach to Bart�k, and from Schubert to Shostakovich.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Some later Reminiscences

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1997)

Peter Williams is an Arts and Sciences Professor, Duke University and John Bird Professor of Music, University of Wales.

Bibliographic information