The Merciful Crow

Front Cover
Henry Holt and Company (BYR), Jul 30, 2019 - Young Adult Fiction - 384 pages

A Tor.com Best of 2019 Pick
A 2020 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick

Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake—in
The Merciful Crow.

"Packed to the teeth with fresh worldbuilding and righteous fury...It's a ride that is wildly fun."—Emily A. Duncan, New York Times-bestselling author of Wicked Saints

"Rich, harrowing, and unafraid to tackle discrimination—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi."—Kirkus, Starred Review

One way or another, we always feed the crows.

A future chieftain

Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.

A fugitive prince

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses—and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns.

A too-cunning bodyguard

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - rivkat - LibraryThing

Fie is a Crow, a member of a despised caste whose sole power comes from immunity to the plague that kills other castes. Though some who hunt Crows maintain that they’re the source of the plague. When ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ayoshina - LibraryThing

Obviously this was overhyped as overhyped could be yet nevertheless “Merciful Crow” was still a somewhat enjoyable read with some major flaws that some readers may not be able to overlook. The ... Read full review

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2019)

Margaret Owen was born and raised at the end of the Oregon Trail, and now lives and writes in Seattle while negotiating a long-term hostage situation with her two monstrous cats. In her free time, she enjoys exploring ill-advised travel destinations and raising money for social justice nonprofits through her illustrations. The Merciful Crow is Owen's debut novel. She resides in Seattle, WA.

Bibliographic information