The Monarchy of England: The beginnings

Front Cover
Chatto and Windus, 2004 - England - 182 pages
MONARCHY is more than the biographies of the kings and queens of England. It is an in-depth examination of what the English monarchy has meant, in terms of the expression of the individual, the Mother of Parliaments, Magna Carta, the laws of England and the land of England. This is the history of ideas and ideals, as well as colourful characters, brought to life by David Starkey's unique gifts as a communicator. David Starkey's scholarship combines with his engaging and popular style to produce another winner. The importance of the rich heritage of the Anglo-Saxon kings is underlined, and among the kings most heavily featured are: Alfred the Great, Canute, Edward the Confessor, William the Conqueror, Henry ll, Richard Lionheart, Henry lll. The last king in this volume is Henry Vl. The thrilling launch of David Starkey's new mammoth venture - MONARCHY: three books linked to 18 hours of television on the Kings and Queens of England. Volume 1: from the retreat of the Romans from Britain in 410 to the fall of the House of Lancaster in the middle of the 15th century.6 TV programmes of one hour each: broadcast on Channel 4 from March 2004 onwards.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information