The Storm Crow

Front Cover
Sourcebooks, Incorporated, 2019 - Crows - 368 pages

Indigo's best YA books of 2019 * B&N's best YA books of July 2019 * Goodread's most popular 2019 debuts

The first book in Kalyn Josephson's "must-read" (Adrienne Young) Storm Crow duology, a YA fantasy series that follows a fallen princess who ignites a rebellion, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Leigh Bardugo and And I Darken.

Princess Thia was born to be a crow rider--a warrior. In her kingdom of Rhodaire, magical elemental crows keep the city running. But when the Illucian empire invades, they kill all the crows in a horrible fire that also robs Thia of her mother and mentor.

Then Thia's sister, Caliza, becomes the new queen of Rhodaire, she is forced to agree to a marriage between Thia and the Illucian heir in an effort to save her people. Prince Ericen is rude and cruel and Thia can't imagine traveling into the heart of an enemy city after so much has been taken from her.

But before she leaves, she finds a crow egg in the rubble of the rookery. Deep in the heart of Ilucia she must hatch the last crow, hold her own against the crown prince, and ignite a rebellion to take back what is hers.

Perfect readers who want:

  • YA mental health stories
  • LGBTQ characters
  • Gifts for teen girls 16-18

Also in this series:
The Crow Rider (Book 2)

Praise for The Storm Crow:
"Clashing kingdoms, thrilling action, and an imperfect heroine make this a must-read."--ADRIENNE YOUNG, New York Times bestselling author of Sky in the Deep and The Girl the Sea Gave Back
"[A]mbitious worldbuilding and an engaging premise...; Anthia's battle with depression is portrayed with frank authenticity, and features well-developed LGBTQ in the Deep characters."--Publishers Weekly
"Dragon fans should get ready for their next favorite creature. I loved this."--JESSICA CLUESS, author of A Shadow Bright and Burning

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - northernplunder - LibraryThing

The opening of The Storm Crow is one of happiness and joy, it gives us a great introduction to Anthia, her life that is harmonious with the crows, and her sister Caliza. (Until the Fire Nation ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - AlysinBookland - LibraryThing

The story started with showing us how the Kingdom of Rhodaire falls when their queen and the magical Crows have been killed by the Kingdom of Illucia. Now, because of this, Princess Anthia has fallen ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2019)

Kalyn Josephson is a fantasy writer living in the California Bay Area. She loves books, cats, books with cats, and making up other worlds to live in for a while. She is the author of The Storm Crow and The Crow Rider. Visit her at kalynjosephson.com.

Bibliographic information