Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Oct 15, 2013 - Religion - 240 pages

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.

Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - john.cooper - LibraryThing

Fed up with the attacks of Richard Dawkins et al. on a faith he doesn’t recognize, and knowing that he can’t assert the truth of religion on an atheist’s terms, Francis Spufford (author of 2017’s top ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jsburbidge - LibraryThing

I am very much not the target audience for this book. In fact, I suspect that, in general, very few reviewers of apologetics are the target audience for apologetics; they are likely to be regular, if ... Read full review

Contents

Dedication
Big Daddy
Yeshua 6 Et Cetera
Consequences Notes

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Francis Spufford, a former Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year (1997), has edited two acclaimed literary anthologies and a collection of essays about the history of technology. His first book, I May Be Some Time, won the Writers' Guild Award for Best Non-Fiction Book of 1996, the Banff Mountain Book Prize, and a Somerset Maugham Award. His second, The Child That Books Built, gave Neil Gaiman "the peculiar feeling that there was now a book I didn't need to write." His third book, Backroom Boys, was called "as nearly perfect as makes no difference" by the Daily Telegraph, and Red Plenty was one of Dwight Garner's New York Times 10 Favorite Books of 2012. Spufford is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and teaches at Goldsmiths College in London.

Bibliographic information