Will You Catch Me?

Front Cover
Hachette Children's Group, Aug 9, 2018 - Juvenile Fiction - 336 pages

From the author of A Room Full of Chocolate comes a heartwarming story about identity and courage, and a tremendous young girl who cares for her alcoholic mother. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Sarah Lean.

Nell Hobson lives with a tortoise called Bob Marley, guinea pigs Asbo and Chaos, goldfish Beyoncé and Destiny, gerbils Fizz and Tyrone, Aunty Lou the Hamster ... and her mum, who drinks too much. Nell does everything she can to be a good daughter so that her mum will stop. But when things get really hard, Nell stands on her head. Everything looks better upside down, don't you know?

Nell wishes she knew her dad was. When new teacher Mr Samuels makes history come alive and tells the class the story of Nell Gwynn, the Orange Girl who became one of the first actresses on the London stage, Nell is captivated and is determined to dress up as an Orange Girl for the Costume Parade. She hatches a plan with her best friend Michael: a way to make her dad step forward and claim her. Will she succeed?

A charming middle grade story with a strong, positive message that celebrates community and friendship.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2018)

After performing as an actress and comedy improviser, Jane fell into writing stories and plays. Her books have won many awards including Peters Book of the Year two years running. Her debut novel A Room Full of Chocolate was longlisted for the Branford Boase Award and she has twice been nominated for the Carnegie Medal.

Jane is loud and proud about her dyslexia and when not writing likes to mentor Neurodiverse young people and promote the gift of alternative thinking. She was honoured to be named as one of the top 50 Neurodivergent Women by the platform Women Beyond the Box.


Jane is an advocate for charities close to her heart such as Nacoa and All Dogs Matter - whose dog shows she has lots of fun judging!

Bibliographic information