Front Cover
Random House Children's Books, 1991 - Juvenile Fiction - 158 pages
The adventures of Christopher Robin and his friends, Winnie-the-Pooh, Tigger, Eeyore, Piglet, Rabbit, Owl, Kanga, and Baby Roo, include Pooh's tangles with honeybees, and Piglet's encounter with a Heffalump. The sequels are The House at Pooh Corner (1961; orig. pub. 1928) and The Hums of Pooh (1930). Collections of tales about Pooh include The World of Pooh (1957), The Pooh Story Book (1965), The Christopher Robin Story Book (1966) and Pooh's Bedtime Book (1980). Outstanding Quality.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


In Which We Are Introduced
In Which Pooh Goes Visiting and Gets
in In Which Pooh and Piglet Go Hunting

6 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1991)

A prolific writer, A. A. Milne published 35 plays, 6 novels, 3 books of verse, 3 collections of short stories, and several works of nonfiction, including sketches for Punch magazine, of which he was the assistant editor. Nevertheless, his fame rests on four books for children: two of whimsical stories about the stuffed animals in his son's bedroom (Winnie-the-Pooh and The House at Pooh Corner) and two of verse (When We Were Very Young and Now We Are Six). All are considered classics and have been included among the Children's Literature Association's Touchstone books as the best in children's literature, on the Lewis Carroll Shelf list, and on the Choice magazine list of books for the academic library. He also wrote Toad of Toad Hall, a play based on Grahame's The Wind in the Willows, and Once upon a Time: A Fairy Tale for Grown-ups, both of which are sometimes included in volumes with the four classic works. Milne had a son, Christopher Robin, who served as the model for the little boy in his children's books.

Bibliographic information