« PreviousContinue »
This Long Thomas master had sum lande by Hungreforde's procuration.
Then succedid hym Robert and Henry.
Then cam one Thomas Long descending of a younger brother, and could skille of the law, and had the inheritances of the aforesaid Longes. Syr Henry and Sir Richard Long were sonnes to this Thomas.
important marriage, the exact particulars of which have, however, never been fully explained. Upon it is the effigy of a lady only: and on the side of it is the shield of the Longs (as still borne by them) impaling, of course as the lady's shield, what appears to be the coat of Berkeley quarterly with Seymour. There is in the pedigree of Long no authenticated proof of any match with a Berkeley at this period : yet, here, in the Longs' chapel at South Wraxhall, is still in existence the undeniable testimony of this monument that such a marriage did take place. Camden says [in his “ Remains"], though without producing any authority, that the first of the Longs was “ preferred to a good marriage by Lord Hungerford.” Possibly this may have been the marriage of which the Wraxhall tomb is evidence : and if so, then the Longs were, indeed, so far under obligation to him, as to be indebted for an introduction to some well endowed bride. But after all, this rests only upon Master Camden's hearsay.
There certainly was an intimacy of friendship between Robert Long, of Wraxhall, 1430, and Lord Hungerford: and as the latter was one of the most important persons of the day, filling the great office of Lord High Treasurer of England, such acquaintance may not have been in any way to Robert's disadvantage. His name constantly occurs in Lord Hungerford's Title Deeds, as one of the feoffees, or trustees, to purchases of land made by that nobleman; but as it is always in connexion with the names of the principal gentlemen of this part of Wiltshire, and as moreover Robert Long was himself M.P. for the county in A.D. 1433, it becomes upon the whole more probable than otherwise, that though he may be the first from whom the Longs can trace with certainty, he was neither the first substantial person in the family, nor was he “set up" by Lord Hungerford.
With respect to that part of “old Mr. Bonhome's” story, which states that “they had some land by Lord Hungerford's procuration;" the only circumstance bearing upon this point, that the writer of this note has ever met with, after a somewhat minute inspection into the history of the property of the Hungerfords, is, that Robert Long in A.D. 1421, held for 3 years a lease under Lord Hungerford, of the manor of Highchurch, in the parish of Hemington, co. Somerset. With this triling exception, there is no evidence from Hungerford documents, that the Longs were in any way indebted to them for any part of their estates; and as to the name of the family, that, as we have already seen, may be pronounced to be a joke of neighbour Bonham's.
BRADFORD. The toune self of Bradeford stondith on the clining of a slatyi rokke, and hath a meetely good market ons a weeke. The toune is made al of stone and standith, as I cam to it, on the hither ripe of Avon.
Ther is a chapelle2 on the highest place of the toune as I enterid. The fair larg paroche chirch standith bynethe the bridge on Avon ripe. The vicarage is at the west ende of the chirch.
The personage is L. poundes by the yere, and was impropriate to Shaftesbyri abbay.
Haulle dwellith in a pratie stone house at the este ende of the toune on the right bank of Avon.
Haule alias De la Sale, a man of £100, landes by the yere.
There is a very fair house of the building of one Horton,4 a riche clothier, at the north est part by the chirch. This Horton's wife yet lyvith. This Horton buildid a goodly large chirch house5 ex lapide quadrato at the est end of the chirch yard, without it.
1.« Slaty rock.” He means, not what is commonly called slate : but a kind. of thin grey stone-tile, one of the subordinate beds of “forest marble,” overlying the great colite of which the high grounds about Bradford principally consist.
2 " Chapelle.” Leland enters Bradford from Wraxhall. There is no known vestige or tradition of any chapel, at or near the entrance of the town by any road upon which it is entered now upon that side. The roads have probably been altered : and he may have approached the town by Bearfield, down some part of the steep hill called Tory. Here, upon nearly the highest part of it, was · once a small chapel, of which a fragment called Tory chapel was a few years ago rescued from total destruction by Capt. 8. Palairet, of Woolley Grange. It was built over an abundant spring that flows out of the rock and supplies the town. The name of Tory, by which that part of Bradford is called, has been ingeniously interpreted to be a corruption of the word "oratory.”
3 " House.” Now called - The Duke's” or “Kingston House.” It was built by the Halls, whose arms on stone are still in one of the apartments; and has lately been restored by the present owner Mr. Moulton.
4" Horton.” Edward Horton, of Westwood manor house, near Bradford, married Alice May, of Broughton Giffard, and died without issue. His eldest brother, William, lived at Iford. For his descendants, see Wilts Visit., 1565.
5 « Church House.” Notices of a building called “The Church House” are often met with in old parochial papers. It was the house at which, before the days of rating, meetings were held for raising funds to maintain church repairs,
This Horton made divers fair houses of stone in Through-bridge toun.
One Lucas, a clothier, now dwellith in Horton's house in Bradeford.
Horton left no children.
These be the names of the notable stone bridges apon Avon betwixt Malmesbyri and Bradeford :
Chippenham, a right fair bridge, about a mile lower. Chippenham toun is on the farther ripe towards London, and cumming from London men cum to it not passing over the bridge.
Rhe Bridge (at Lacock) about a mile and an half lower.
water with Avon.
Bristow Bridge a 10 miles lower. A 2 miles above Bristow was a commune Trajectus by Bote, wher was a chapelle of S. Anne on the same side of Avon that Bath stondith on, and heere was great pilgrimage to S. Anne.1
the poor, &c. These parish gatherings, for the provocation of a livelier charity, were conducted with certain festivities. The parish kept at this house a regular cookery establishment, stores of malt, and other appropriate materials. The malt was brewed, and the liquor consumed “pro bono publico.” The greater the consumption, the more profit to the public purse. This continued for days or weeks ; accompanied by “diversions,” such as bull-baiting, fighting, dancing, &c.
1 "St. Anne." Near Brislington : founded by one of the Lords Delawarr. The site of this chapel, long since a ruin, is in a nook of the county Somerset, opposite Crew's Hole in the parish of St. George's in Gloucestershire, from which it is divided by the Avon. It is on the left bank of the river. Bath, in Leland's time, was on the other.
There is a litle streate over Bradford Bridge, and at the ende of that is an hospitalel of the Kinges of Englandes fundation.
As I turnid up at this streat end toward Through-bridg, ther was a quarre2 of fair stone on the right hand in a felde.
TROWBRIDGE. [Itin. II. 57]. From Bradeforde to Thorough-bridge about a 2 miles by good corne, pasture, and wood.
I enterid into the toune by a stone bridge of a 3 arches.
The toune standith on a rokky hill, and is very welle buildid of stone, and flourishith by drapery.
Of later tymes one James Terumber, a very rich clothier, buildid a notable fair house in this toune, and gave it at his deth with other landes to the finding of 2 cantuarie prestes yn Through-bridg Chirch.
This Terumber made also a litle almose house by Through-bridge Chirch,3 and yn it be a 6 poore folkes having a 3 pence a peace by the week toward their finding.
1 “Hospital.” At the point of the two roads, where Leland turned off to Trowbridge, there is still a hospital; but this was founded by will of John Hall, Esq., who died 1708. The hospital which he describes as near this point, was one which used to be called the “ Old Poor House.” It stood on the right hand side of the road going out of Bradford, just beyond where the Great Western Railway now crosses that road. The company purchased the ground, and destroyed the buildings. There is another almshouse still farther on near the bridge over the canal, called “ The Women's Poor House,” still standing : but the one which Leland meant was that which stood " at the end of the street where he turned off to Trowbridge.”
2 “Quarre.” This “quarre” is still open, and is one of those in which are found specimens (but not the best, which come from Bearfield, on the top of the hill) of one of the rarest and most beautiful of our English fossils, called par excellence the “ Bradford encrinite."
3 « Terumbers,” or “ The Old Almshouse,” had six small rooms below and six above, and adjoined the north east side of the church yard. In 1483 (1 Rich. III) the founder conveyed to feoffees certain lands in Trowbridge, Studley, Broughton-Giffard, and Bradford, in Wilts, and Beckington, in Somerset, for its maintenance, and for other purposes. The annual payment having been lost since 1777, the house being in ruins was taken down by public consent of the parishioners, 21st April, 1811. [See report 28, of Charity Commissioners : page 354].
Horton, a clothiar, of Bradeforde, builded of late dayes dyvers fair houses in this toun. 1
Old Bayllie2 buildid also of late yn this toun, he was a rich clothiar. Bailie's son now drapeth yn the toun, and also a 2 miles out of it at a place yn the way to Farley-Castel, one Alexandre is now a great clothier yn the toun.
The church of Through-bridge is lightsum and fair.
The castelle stoode on the south side of the toune. It is now clene down. Ther was in it a 7 gret toures, whereof peaces of 2 yet stande.
The river rennith hard by the castelle.5
This brooke risith about a mile and an half from Warminster by south-east; and so cummith to Through-bridge toune, and thens about a mile to S(t)averton an hemlet belonging to Through-bridg, and there metith with Avon river: and at this confluence there is a stone bridge over Avon.
Sit)averton stondith on the same side of the brooke that Through-bridg dothe.
1 A John Horton was Rector of Trowbridge, 1441.
2 “ Bayllie.” The arms of this family (3 horses heads) are over the door of the principal house in Hilperton, close to Trowbridge. The same coat was also, a few years ago, on the ceiling of Philip's Norton Church, about 6 miles off. The Bayleys intermarried with the Hortons above mentioned. See Wilts Visit., 1565.
3 Stowford Mill, in Winkfield; where till within these 4 or 5 years, men continued to “ drape.” It has lately been turned into a flour mill. Some Bayleys are buried in Winkfield Church.
4 Thomas Molyns, appointed Rector of Trowbridge in 1528, seems to have resigned in 1541.
5“Castelle.” The site of the Castle, called “Courthill,” has long since been covered with factories. An old painting on panel, sufficiently corresponding with Leland's description, was found some years ago within a wall in the house of the late Mr. Samuel Salter. It has been engraved as Trowbridge Castle, in a book called “The Church Restored,” by the Rev. J. D. Hastings, Rector of Trowbridge, published 1848. Some part of the towers appear to have remained till 1670. The principal street of Trowbridge forms a curve, which it is said to have taken from following the line of the wall round the ancient castle.