« PreviousContinue »
the daughter and heire of Matravers, a Knight, had 3 or 4 sons. He had also a doughter called Alice by his wife, Matravers' heire. This Alice was maried first to Cheyni, a Knight, and had 2 doughters, Anne and Elizabeth, by him. Anne was maried to Coleshill and had no issue. Elisabeth was married to Willoughby Lord Broke ........ had issue Alice .... was ma ....oys .... Eleanor a doughter by him, whom Strangwais .... maried, and so cam Humfre Stafforde's landes to Willoughby and Strangwaies. [vi. 13.]
Much of the Lord Zouche's lands was gyven by Henry VII. to Willoughby Lord Broke.l [ví. 14].
Wermister, a principall market for corne, is 4 miles from Brookehaull; a myle to Westbyry, and so 3 myles forthe. (VII. 86.]
EDINGTON. [1v. 25.] [Hedington village and priorie aboute a 2 (at least 5) myles from Brooke Haul. VII. 87]. .
Hedington of auncient tyme was a prebende longging to Rumsey an abbay of nunnes in Hampshire [to whom it was given by King
was remarried, to Walter Talboys and had Eleanor a daughter by him, whom Thomas Strangways married, and so &c.”
Sir Humphrey Stafford, jun., “of the Silver Hand,” was elder brother of John Stafford, Bishop of Bath and Wells, afterwards Archbishop of Canterbury, who died A.D. 1452. Their mother Emma, second wife of Sir Humphrey Stafford, sen., was buried in the neighbouring church of North Bradley, within a beautiful little Mortuary Chapel appurtenant to Southwick in that parish, a manor house which formerly belonged to the Staffords, and from them (probably by the marriage of Alice Stafford above mentioned) came to Cheney and thence to Willoughby. The inscription on the tomb of the Archbishop's mother still remains, and it removes a difficulty in the Stafford pedigree which has been hitherto unsolved. See it stated in a note by Sir Harris Nicolas, Testamenta Vetusta, p. 166.
Ela, coheiress of the Paveleys, and sister of Joan Lady Cheney (see note on Brooke Hall) married St. Loe. Their daughter married Sir Richard St. Maur. Their granddaughter, Alice St. Maur, married Lord Zouche. Lord Zouche's grandson being attainted A.D. 1485, his portion of the Westbury property was granted to Lord Willoughby de Broke who already possessed the share which had descended to him through the Cheney family from Joan the other coheiress of Paveley.
John. Collectanea 1, 68). Hedington prebend was an hunderith markes by the yere and more. Hedington Bp. of Winchesterl was born at this Hedington, being cheef rular of England, while King Edw. 3 and Edward the .... (Black Prince ?) did war in France. He buildid a fair new chirch at Hedington, and there made a college [for canons regular. Coll. 1, 66.] with a Deane and xii Ministers, wherof parte were prebendaries. He caussid the prebende of Hedington to be removed from the title of Rumsey, and to be impropriated to this college. He procured besides a 200 marks of landes by yere to this college. And this was done about the time that King Edward wan Calays.
Prince Edward, caullid the Blak Prince, had a great favor to the Bones-Homes beyond these. Wherapon cumming home he hartely besought Bishop Hedington to chaunge the Ministers of his college into Bones-Homes. [Boni Homines. Collect. 1, 66]. Hedington at
1 Leland's notes upon Edington are valuable, and form the staple of the brief account that is given of this house both by Tanner and in the New Monasticon.
One interesting circumstance connected with the Founder (for which the writer is indebted to the Rev. Edward Wilton) appears to have escaped the notice of all who have touched upon the subject. He is generally called William of Edington, and is commonly said to have been born in the parish : which is very probable, as in a deed printed in the New Monasticon (miscalled the “ Foundation Deed,” being merely the Preamble to the Code of Statutes appointed to be observed in the House), it is stated that the Reverend Father derived his origin from that village (“ de quâ villâ idem pater traxit originem”): but his family name has never been particularly identified. He appears to have been a Cheney: no doubt connected with the Cheneys of Brooke Hall, mentioned above. The authority for this statement is the Cartulary of Edington ; according to extracts alleged to be taken from it, and preserved in the Ashmol. Museum, Oxon. [Ashm. M. Dugd. 39, 142.] His father's name was Walter de Cheney, or " Walterus de Quercu” (“ of the Oak ;" in French, “ Chêne.”) In another deed, also given at length in the same extracts, and dated 35 Edw. III. (A.D. 1361), the Bishop is described as “Guardian of the heiresses of Sir John Pavely.” This throws some light upon the marriage mentioned in a former note, of Sir Ralph Cheney to one of the heiresses, Joan Pavely, by which the estate of Brooke passed to the family of Cheney.
The last of the Paveleys probably assisted Bp. (Cheney) of Edington to a large extent, in building Edington Church: as the tower windows seem to contain a singular architectural allusion to that family. The tracery is arranged in the form of a cross; the Paveley arms being a cross flory.
his desire entreatid his collegians to take that ordre. And so they did all, saving the Deane. Hedington sent for ij of the Bones-Homes of Asscheruggel to rule the other xij of his college. The elder of the ij that cam from Asscherugge was caullid John Ailesbyri, and he was the first Rector (i. e., Prior of the House) at Hedington.
Hedington gave greate substance of mony and plate onto his college.
One Blubyri, a prebendary of Saresbyri and executor of the wille of Hedington, caussid a great benefice of the patronage of Sceaftesbyri Monastery to be impropriate to Hedington. Blubyri,2 as I hard, was buried at Hedington.
Sir Richard Penley, a Knight, gave the lordship of Ildesle (West Ilsley) in Barkshire, a 2 miles from Wantage, a market toune. This Penley3 lay long at Hedington and ther died and was biried.
Rouse, a Knight, gave to Hedington his fair lordship of Bainton, aboute half a mile from Hedington. Rouse4 is buried at Hedington.
(BENEFACTORS.] [Penley and Rowse: Knights. Jerberd and Bultington.5 Collec. 1, 66].
1 Ashridge, the only other “Bons Hommes” House in England, is in the parish of Pitstone, co. Bucks. It was afterwards the Earl of Bridgwater's.
2 John Bleobury, clerk, was one of the feoffees of Sir Thomas Hungerford in the purchase of Farley Castle from the Burghersh family in A.D. 1369. An obit was kept for him at Edington.
3 “ Penley.” There is an estate and residence still called Penleigh House near Westbury.
4 Sir John Rous, of Imber, in 1414 (I Hen. V.) settled the manor and patronage of the chapel of Baynton (near Earlstoke) on his son “ John Rous, of Beynton, jun.” William Rous (son of the latter) in 1437 sold part of Imber to Lord Hungerford : the other part he gave in 1444 to Edington Priory, Thomas Elme being then Rector. His brother John Rous, a great supporter of the Lollards and a troublesome disturber of Churchmen of the day, is supposed to have made his peace with them by granting his manor of Baynton to the Convent, in 1443. [See Hoare's Heytesbury, p. 162.]
5“ Bultington.” This is, without the slightest doubt, a mistake for Bulkington. There is a village so called (a tything of Keevil a few miles from Edington), which gave its name to some family of importance in those days.
John Willoughby that cam out of Lincolnshire and maried an heire generale of the Lord Broke, 1 and after was Lord Brooke hymself, lyith buried at Hedington, and was a benefactor to that house. As I remember, the son of this Lord Broke was Steward of King
Peter de Bulkington and Michael de Bulkington are named in the Wiltshire Fines, 38 H. III. The manor afterwards belonged to the religious house atEdington, of the gift probably of Thomas Bulkington, the benefactor mentioned by Leland. Obits at Edington to Penley, Rous, Gereberd, and Thomas Bukyngton are mentioned in the Valor Eccles. [Wilts, p. 142.] Edington Church still retains a memorial of Thomas Bulkington: for to him there can be little doubt that a monument really refers, which has often been attributed to an unauthorized and unknown Thomas Baynton. This monument which is highly finished, and clearly refers to some person of consequence connected with the convent, is at the end of the south transept, and bears the effigy of an Augustine Canon; his feet resting on a tun. On one shield are the letters T.B. : and on another the device of a tun with a tree growing out of it. The not dissimilar device of a hay tree growing out of a tun, appropriate to (and perhaps sometimes used by) the Wiltshire family of Baynton, has, for want of any better conjecture, caused this monument to be constantly assigned to some one of that name. But the monument is of a date long prior to any connexion which the Bayntons may have had with Edington. The name Bulkington is still commonly pronounced Bukington, or Bookington. As the word “Boc" signifies a beech treee, Boc-in-tun, supported by the fact of a known ecclesiastical benefactor Thomas Bulkington, seems to establish his claim to the monument, in preference to that of an imaginary Thomas Baynton.
1 Perhaps Leland means that John Willoughby married an heir general of the Lord of the Manor of Broke. Otherwise his statement is full of confusion. Sir John Willoughby “that came out of Lincolnshire" did not marry any heir general of any person who had borne the title of Lord Broke: (for it was his own son to whom that title was first granted) but a coheiress of Sir Edmund Cheney, of Brooke Hall. Neither was Sir John himself, as Leland says, afterwards Lord Broke himself; nor was his grandson the 3rd Lord Broke. Sir John's son (as just stated), Robert, was the first Lord Willoughby de Broke, created A.D. 1492. Robert's son, also Robert, was the second Lord Broke A.D. 1503. And there was no third Lord, at that time, of that title. For Edward Willoughby, son of Robert 2nd Lord by his first wife Elizabeth Beauchamp, died in his father's life time, leaving two daughters, of whom one, Elizabeth, married Sir Fulke Greville, and the other, Blanche, married Sir Francis Dawtrey. Robert, the second Lord Broke, had by another wife Dorothy Grey, two sons who died childless, and two daughters, Elizabeth, married to John Paulet Marquis of Winchester, and Anne, married to Charles Blount Lord Mountjoy.
Henry VII. house : and his son was the 3rd Lord Brooke of that.... ........N. B..... ....................name. And he had a son by his first wife, and that son had 2 daughters married to Daltery and Graville. He had by another wife sons and daughters. The sons towards young men died of the sweating sickness. The Lord Mountjoye now living married one of the Pollette daughters : (Pawlet) son and heire to the Lord St. John maried the other.
One Aschuel alias Aschgogh, Bishop of Saresbyri in Henry 6 tyme, was beheddid in a rage of the Commons for asking a tax of money, as sum say, on an hill hard by Hedington ; wher at this tyme is a chapelle and a hermitage. The body of him was buried in the house of Bonhoms at Hedington. This Aschue was a Master of Arts. [Itin. 111. 98].
From a certain Latin book of Edindon Monastery :- [Itin. VI., p. 48]. “3 July A.D. 1352: was laid the first stone of the Monastery
i William Ayscough Bishop of Salisbury, Clerk of the Privy Council, had been accused by the Commons of having been instrumental, together with the Duke of Suffolk and Lord Say, in delivering up the provinces of Maine and Anjou. The other two had already fallen victims to popular excitement. The Bishop's enemies, taking advantage of the disturbed state of the country, attacked him in his palace at Salisbury. He fled for refuge to Edington Convent, was robbed on the way of 10,000 marks, and the next day was dragged by the mob, headed by a Salisbury brewer, from the High Altar at Edington Church whilst saying Mass, to the top of a neighbouring hill, where he was murdered, on the feast of St. Peter and St. Paul, 29th June, 1450.
The beautiful tomb at Salisbury, which Gough calls Bp. Ayscough's, and on which he supposes the action of the Bishop's murder to be represented in relief, is of a style of architecture 200 years older than Ayscough's time. There is an engraving of it, with a different account of the figures in relief, in Britton's Salisbury Cathedral, p. 95: where it is properly described as Bp. Bridport's, but in the accompanying plate, by a misprint, is called Bp. Bingham's.
Of the chapel and hermitage mentioned by Leland as having been erected on the spot where Ayscough was murdered, nothing seems to be now known. Of the priory of Edington there is an engraving in Gent. Mag. 1846, p. 257.