« PreviousContinue »
where refreshments had been provided by Captain Willes Johnson, who courteously threw open the house and received the party in the most hospitable manner.
From Hannington the excursionists proceeded to Kempsford and Castle Eaton, and thence to Cricklade, where the Church of St. Sampson was inspected. Time would not allow of a visit to the Church of St. Mary; and the party passed on to Purton, where a substantial lunch awaited them in the Pavilion on the cricket ground, and to which as many as sixty sat down, under the presidency of Major Prower. The examination of the interesting Church at Lydiard closed the excursion, and with it one of the most successful meetings which the Society has held.
By the courteous permission of W. F. Gooch, Esq., the works connected with the locomotive department at New Swindon were open to the inspection of members of the Society during the meeting: and the Committee of the Swindon Literary Institute were also so obliging as to place their rooms at its service.
For kindly charging themselves with the trouble that always devolves on those who undertake the local arrangements of the General Meetings, the Society desires to express its thanks to the Rev. H. G. Baily, Vicar of Swindon; J. C. Townsend, Esq., George Alexander, Esq. of Westrop House, and the Rev. E. Meyrick of Chisledon.
TEMPORARY MUSEUM AT THE TOWN-HALL, SWINDON, August 15th, 16th, and 17th, 1860.
Those marked with an Asterisk have been presented to the Society.
By A. L. GoDDARD, Esq., Swindon :A bronze figure in relief of the Trusty Servant from the kitchen in Winchester College. A miniature on copper with arms of Goddard. A brass circular seal bearing “on a bend three cups” and the legend “S. Henrice Goddard” found in Sandhill Park, near Taunton. An ancient carving in cedar. An antique wine glass, mounted in gold. A collection of English and Continental coins and medals. A guinea of William III., found on one of the arches of Swindon Old Church when pulled down. Pair of Indian pistols; German steel cross-bow, &c. A card about six inches long by four inches deep engraved by Gutterlane, and having a border of twelve shields, bearing the arms of various branches of the Goddard family in Wiltshire, Leicestershire, Cheshire, Lincolnshire, Kent, and other counties; and in the centre the following inscription:— “There is a friendly Meeting of those whose Sr Names be GODDARD. Sr your Company is loueingly desyered only for Societie and Acquaintance. The times of Meeting are the 5th day of every month in ye yeare, except it be Sunday, then on ye day following, from Ladeyday to Michaelmas at 6, jrom Michaelmas to Ladeyday at 4 o'clock in the afternoone At the Redbull behind St. Nicholas Shambles called Mount Goddard Streete. By JAMES BRADFoED, Esq. :— An ancient Deed—License from Edward III. to the Abbey of St. Karilephs? to transfer the Manor of Covenham to the Abbey of Kirkstede, Co. Lincoln. The Great Seal appended to this Deed was in a rare state of preservation. Bishop Godwin’s Catalogue of the Bishops of England, 1615. By MAJOR PRow ER, Purton — Piece of the Waistcoat (satin richly embroidered) worn by Charles I. when he was beheaded. An heir-loom in the Elton family. A Silver Snuff-box, with Bust of Queen Anne."
* Subsequently to the Battle of Blenheim a deputation of Noblemen from the West of England attended at Court to congratulate Queen Anne on the victory which had been achieved by the British Army. Each Nobleman took with him three of his principal tenants, to each of whom a silver snuffbox similar to the one here exhibited, was presented by the Queen.
By REv. H. LIGHT, Wroughton – An Illuminated German MS., perfect, and in an excellent state of preservation. “Light of Britain,” by Henry Lyte, of Lytes-Cary, 1588, and “Lyte's Herbal,” folio 1578; two works by an ancestor of Mr. Light. By REv. E. MEYRICK, Chisledon :Specimens of bearded and broad arrow, Glaive and Iron Spear-head from Hillwood, Aldbourne Chase. Portion of horse-shoe and iron knife, found at Badbury Castle. Five medals struck in honour of the capture of Porto Bello by Admiral Vernon, found at Chiseldon. [When the buildings known as the “Old Work-house,” at Swindon, were pulled down a short time since, a medal struck in honour of Admiral Vernon, and condemnatory of the policy of Sir Robert Walpole was found. It differs somewhat from those exhibited by Mr. Meyrick]. A coloured sketch of a remarkable Parhelion, seen at Chiseldon on Monday, June 25th, 1860, at 5.30 p.m. By MR. MooRE, F.R.G.S., Bath:— A case of organic remains, consisting of 45,000 teeth of Acrodus, Scales of Lepidotus, Gyrolepis, &c. Fish and reptilian vertebrae. Teeth of Saurichthys Placodus, Lepidotus, Hybodus, and other fishes and reptiles, extracted from three square yards of Triassic earth. By MR. W. F. PRATT, Wootton Basset;Original Charter of Charles II. to the Borough of Wootton Basset bearing date 2nd December, 1679. This document which is in excellent preservation had by some accident migrated into North Wales, where it was found about two years since amongst other old papers, and presented to the Corporation of Wootton Basset by Meiler Owen, Esq., of Goppa, Co. Denbigh. Besides’ confirming to the Borough all its former privileges it conferred many additional ones, some of which have fallen into disuse. A more ancient Charter (according to a Petition presented to the House of Commons, during the Commonwealth) was in existence, under which the inhabitants had the privilege of turning cattle in Fasterne Great Park, containing 2000 acres, “without stint, be they never so many.” This Charter, it seems, was kept from the town by Sir Francis Englefield, Knight, who had a grant of the Manor temp. Philip and Mary, and enclosed nearly the whole of the park; and subsequently the remaining portion (about 100 acres) was also enclosed. The present Charter was obtained through the influence of Lawrence Hyde, Earl of Rochester, a reward as it is said, for the loyalty of the town during the Civil War. By MR. W. F. PARSONs, Wootton Basset — * Deed relating to Lands, &c., at Wootten Basset temp. Queen Elizabeth. Also some interesting papers relative to the formation of a Volunteer Corps in Wootton Basset in 1803, including the speech of the Mayor on the occasion. By T. BRUGEs FLOWER, Esq., Bath:— Coloured drawing by Miss Hay, of a specimen of Tulipa sylvestris (wild Tulip) found at Wootton Rivers by William Bartlett, Esq. By MR. HoRSELL, Wootton Basset – Three iron spurs and gun lock, found at Winterbourne Basset. By MR. W. WAUGHAN Edwards, Swindon — Antique drinking Goblet, supposed of Indian workmanship, of Rhinoceros horn, with silver foot. Embroidered bed furniture on home-spun linen.
By MRs. TARRANT, Swindon :Part of Fossil Tree, 15 feet in length, from Swindon quarry. Two specimens of Ammonites Giganteus. By MR. TownsenD, Swindon :Collection of Fossils from the Portland stone, Oxford clay and chalk. Antler of red deer from Braden Forest; and a silver drinking cup (16th century.) By MR. W. MATHEws:– Two specimens of the hobby hawk (falco subbuteo). By REv. G. A. GoDDARD, Cliffe Pypard:— Two bellarmines, or long-beards, from under Cliffe Vicarage House. Nine Ancient British gold coins. Bronze celts, keys, rings, watch, and an apostle spoon inscribed “W. S. nat: fuit 26 die May 1636.” By REv. S. ETTY, Wanborough :* Rubbings from brasses at Wanborough and Chiseldon : also from a curious inscription to Anne Smyth (1719) at Little Hinton. By MR. W. MoRRIs, Swindon :A collection of Wiltshire mosses (40 specimens). Case containing 600 specimens of Fossils illustrating the geology of Swindon and the district. A collection of 3000 specimens of Fossils from the various strata in Europe. A spear head (iron) 15 inches in length, from a barrow near Wootton Basset. A quantity of Roman pottery. Roman coins and ornaments and Wiltshire tokens. By G. Poul.ETT ScroPE, Esq., M.P., Castle Combe;— A case containing pottery, glass, stucco, coins, and various Roman remains, discovered in a villa at North Wraxhall, Wilts. [See p. 59, of the present volume]. By REv. C. SoAMEs, Mildenhall:— Bronze Musical instrument, and a large collection of Roman Pottery, including mortaria and other vessels of grey, yellow, and Samian ware, some richly embossed, and bearing the names of Bonoxvs, TITTIVs, and other potters found in the lists given by Birch in his “History of Ancient Pottery.” One of the vessels, a ciborium, of Samian ware, appears to have been rivetted with lead as described by Birch. These articles were discovered in what appears to have been a well, situated in Black Field, at Mildenhall, near Marlborough. The well has been opened to the depth of 25 feet, but the borer indicates that the bottom has not been reached by at least several feet. It is not faced with any material, but has been dug through the chalky sub-soil; and filled up with fragments of pottery, bricks, tiles, clinkers, charcoal, bones of all sorts of domestic animals, and of birds, with shells of the oyster and muscle. The fragments of pottery comprise portions of more than 50 different vessels of the red or Samian ware, together with numberless others of the commoner sort. The field in which the well is situated is near the supposed site of the ancient Roman station of Lower Cunetio, aud is noted for the quantity of Roman coins which have been found in it, besides bricks, tiles, and stones evidently used for building. Another cavity in the ground, apparently the upper part of another well, faced with large stones, has been discovered about forty yards from the former one, which it is also proposed to open for the purpose of investigating its contents.
VOL. VII.-NO. XX. L
By REv. T. CornTHwaite, Walthamstow :Impression of ring taken from the finger of Martin Luther at his death. Celtic sling stones. Portions of chain armour, from a railway cutting near Canterbury. Russian Triptych, Reliquary, and artificial Egg, with painting of St. Nicholas, usually presented to friends at Easter. Mummy lizard, Greek arrow heads, &c. By REV. G. MAY, Liddington :A number of coins and Roman remains, found at Wanborough and Liddington. By G. ALEXANDER, Esq., Highworth :— A collection of Nubian shields, dresses, purse, charms, spear heads, knives, &c. By MR. CUNNINGTON, Devizes:— Fossil fish from the Purbeck beds, including Lepidotus minor, Microdon radiatus, and Lepidotus major. Ammonites giganteus, Ammonites biplex, Trigonia gibbosa, Cardium dissimile, Isastrea oblonga, from Portland Stone, Tisbury; also a case of other fossils from the Portland and Purbeck beds of Wiltshire. Hawkins's Diagram of “Struggles for life among British animals in Antediluvian times” with notes referring to Wiltshire species.
In addition to the articles above enumerated there was a valuable collection of coins, Roman remains, &c., from the Society’s Museum at Devizes; and also a collection of Fossils from the Oxford clay formation, contributed by Mr. W. Cunnington, of Devizes. The walls were also hung with a number of drawings, by G. Poulett Scrope, of various tumuli, of the excavations at North Wraxhall, and rubbings of brasses, &c., &c.