« PreviousContinue »
and Manufcripts relating to Heraldry and Antiquity, and the Manuscripts of Sir William Dugdale, Author of the Monasticon Anglicanum. The fecond contains Dr. Lister's Library. The third that of Mr. Anthony à Wood, with his laborious and learned Collections, relating chiefly to this University and
On the first Floor is the Apparatus for the Lectures in Experimental Philofophy, where the Profeffor reads his Courses of Lectures ; underneath is the grand Apparatus for the present extensive Lectures in Chemistry now established in the University.
On the other Side of the Theatre, and North of the Schools, stands the Clarendon Printing-House, built in the Year 1711, with the Profits arising from the Sale of Lord Clarendon's History; the Copy of which was given to the University by the Lords Cla. rendon and Rochester, Sons to that noble Lord. It is a noble Edifice, 115 Feet in length; and consists of two lofty Stories. Towards the Street is a magnificent Portico of the Doric Order; the Height of the Columns being equal to the two Stories. This is anfwered on the opposite Side, next the Schools, by a Frontispiece supported by Three-Quarter Columns of the fame Dimensions; and the Doric Entablature encompasses the whole Building. On the Top, are Statues of the Nine Muses; and over the Entrance on the South Side a Statue of the Earl of Clarendon. As we enter on this Side, on the Right-hand, are the Apartments where Bibles and Common Prayer Books are printed, under the Privilege and Appointment of the University. On the Left is the Univerfity Press; and a well-finished Apartment, where the
Heads of Houses and Delegates meet on the Business of the University.
RADCLIFFE'S NEW LIBRARY.
Southward of the Schools, in the Centre of a beautiful Area, stands the new or Radclivian Library; for the building whereof, that celebrated Physician Dr. John Radcliffe bequeathed the Sum of 40,000l. He fixed the Salary of the Librarian at 150l. per Annum; appropriated iool. per Annum to buy Books, and 100l. per Annum to keep the Library in Repair.
The Rustic Basement, which is 100 Feet in Dias meter from outside to Outside, is a Double Octagon or 16 Square ; all of which Squares are distinguished by their projection, and by a Pediment or Frontispiece which forms each into a Gateway.
The Superstructure, raised upon this Basement, is perfectly Cylindrical, and adorned with Three-Quarter Columns of the Corinthian Order; which are ranged, not at equal Distances, but in Couplets. Between these there is an Alternacy of Windows and Niches all round: over the latter, next to the Architrave, are beautiful Feftoons of Fruits and Flowers. The Entablature is much enriched with Carving; and over it is a Balustrade furrounding the whole, finished with Vases on the Piers perpendicular to the Columns ; above which is a Cupola 60 Feet high.. Seven of the Gateways abovementioned are ntrances into the Portico or Arcade; in the Centre of which within the Piers is a wide spreading Dome ; and without them a Cloyster almost encircling it. Over each of the Entrances is a Dome of smaller Dimensions, curiously wrought with variety of Mofaic. The Eighth Gateway is appropriated to the Stair-Cafe, the well of which is oval; and the
Steps, which are of Stone, adhering to the Wall at one End, seem rather to be upheld by the Iron Rail that is upon them, than supported underneath at the other. The Pavement is of different coloured stone, brought from Harts Forest in Germany.
The Dome, which is 80 Feet high from the Pavement, is wrought in curious Compartments in ftucco. It is chiefly lighted by Windows in the Cylindric Part: between which are Tresses of Fruits and Flowers. In the circular Part, without the Piers, are the Book-cases and Reading-tables : The Gallery above is appropriated to the same Ufes as the circular. Part beneath. Over the door is a very good Statue of the Founder by Ryfbrack. Over the Entrance of one of the Galleries is a Buft of Gibbs, the Architect. The first Stone of this superb Building was laid May 17, A. D. 1737; and being completely finished, it was opened on Thursday, April 13, 1749
In this Library are a couple of Superb Roman Candlesticks of incomparable Workmanship, given to the University by Sir Roger Newdigate, Bart. They were found in the Ruins of the Emperor Adrian's Palace at Tivoli, in the Campania Romana.
THE Public are indebted to Dr. Radcliffe's Truftees for building and completely furnishing the PUBLIC ÎNFIRMARY at the north fide of the City, which is inaintained and supported by voluntary Contributions. An institution which in this place must be productive of very extensive Benefits, as, while it relieves the Poor, it serves as a School for the Students in Phyfic.
The munificent Trustees of Dr. Radcliffe's Will have also built a magnificent