Page images
[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]


by Rubens ; the Pale of an Altar, with figures larger than the life, by Corregio; two Half-lengths of Women, by Domenichino.

In the lower Room, also on the right-hand, is a Buft of General Guise over the door ; and on the left is one of the Hon. and Rev. Dr. Trevor, late Bishop of Durham; and in the entrance to the staircafe are Busts of the late eminent Physicians Drs. Frewin and Lee. Fronting the ftair-case is an elégant Statue of Dr. Robinson, the present Primate of Ireland : and upon a pedestal in the Recess on the north side of the upper apartment, is an admirable Statue of Mr. Locke, formerly Student of this house, by Roubillac.

Canterbury Court, once Canterbury College, is now most elegantly rebuilt, from a plan suitable to Peekwater, with a superb Gateway, under the direction of Mr. Wyatt, by the munificence of the present Primate of Ireland, and other Benefactors.

The Chaplain's Court is situated south-east of the grand Quadrangle, on the north fide whereof is 'a large building of new chambers; the walls of which were the Hall or Refectory of St. Frideswide’s Priory.

The Court of the Grammar School is fouth of the great Quadrangle, having the Hall on the north side of it: Under part of the Hall is the spacious Commoii Room, in which over the chimney-piece is an excellent Buft, by Rysbrack, of Dr. Busby, formerly Master of Westminster School, and a considerable Benefactor to the College. Round the room are the Pictures of several of the Masters of the fame School, and other eminent members of the Society. On the south side is the new Anatomical Theatre, erected and endowed by the late Dr. Lee, Physician to King George II. at the expence of 20,000l. with a proper ftipend to the Lecturer, &c. In it is a fine collec


tion of Anatomical Preparations and Injections. The wide Gravel Walk, shaded on each side with elms, deserves our notice, being a quarter of a mile in length, and of a proportionable breadth. It commands a fight of Lord Harcourt's Seat,, a pleasant prospect of the Meadows, the Thames, and some adjacent Villages.

This College was founded by Cardinal Wolsey, upon the place where formerly stood the Priory of St. Frideswide, which, and several other religious foundations, were diffolved, in order to endow the new College intended by the Cardinal. The design was far from being completed at the time of the Cardinal's disgrace, little more being built than the east, fouth, and part of the west sides of the great Quadrangle, and the Kitchen. And as to the foundation itself, whatever it might be at that time, 'tis certain it was afterwards leffened, and the form of it altered two or three times by the King. The disa grace of the Cardinal happened in the year, 1529, when the King seized upon this college, as well as the other estates belonging to the Cardinal. In the year 1532, at the instance of Lord Cromwell, the King new modelled the foundation, and gave it the name of King Henry the Eighth's College. This was Luppressed in, 1545, and, in the year following the Episcopal See was removed from Oseney to this Col. lege, and the Church of St. Fridefwide constituted a Cathedral, by the name of Christ Church.

This foundation has continued in the same form ever since. It consists of a Dean, eight Canons, 191 Students, part of which are elected annually from Westminster School, and the other vacancies, as they happen, are filled up by the Dean and Cao nons; eight Chaplains, eight Singing-men, and as many Choristers, a, School-master, an Organist, &c. Since the time of Queen Elizabeth, this College has



[ocr errors]

- largely experienced the bounty of several Benefactors,

particularly Bishop Fell, who left ten Exhibitions of :iol. per ann. to Commoners, to be held for iten years from the time they were nominated to them.

The 101st Studentship was added by William Thurs*ton, Esq. 1663, and is now in the gift of the Vernon - Family. Several Exhibitions were given by Lady

Holford for Scholars educated at the Charter-House, 2 and more by other Benefactors.

Visitor. The King.



[ocr errors][ocr errors]

EMBROKE College, so called from the Earl

of. Pembroke, Chancellor of the University at the time it was founded, is situated near St. Al. - date's Church, in a direct line from the grand Gate of Christ Church, and confifts of two small Courts, The Quadrangle is uniform, having the Hall at the north-west angle, in which are Pictures of the Founders and some Benefactors. The Chapel is a smallz. elegant building, of the Ionic order, with a beautiful Altar-piece. In the Garden, which is west of the Chapel, is a pleasant Common Room, and a Ter· race-walk. The Master's Lodgings, which join to the College on the north, is a modern edifice.

This College, formerly Broadgate Hall, was founded an. 1620, by Tho. Tesdale, of Glympton, Esq. and Richard Whitwick, S. T. B. Rector of Ilsey, Berks, for a Mafter, ten Fellows and ten Scholars. Four of Mr. Tesdale's Fellows to be chofen out of. his relations, and the rest to come from Abingdon Free-School.

As to Mr. Whitwick's Benefaction, two of the Fellows and two Scholars to be of his kindred, and the rest from Abingdon School,

« PreviousContinue »