Page images

with stone. This is the entrance from Abingdon and various parts of Berk hire.

We must not here omit the many elegant and use ful improvements that have taken place, in pursuance of an Act of Parliament obtained in the sith year of his present Majesty.-The narrow and incomodious paflage at East Gate has been opened, which renders this part equal to the magnificence of the HighStreet; and in the year 1779 a new Stone Bridge, at this entrance of the Town, was erected at the expense of upwards of Eight 'Thousand Pounds.

In pursuance alfo of the faine Act of Parliament, on the north fide of tire High-Street, between St. Martin's and All Saints' churches, was erected the New General Market, 347 feet long, and 112 wide, equal to any thing of the kind in the kingdom.

The City of Oxford, with its suburbs, and liberties, consists of fourteen parishes. 1. St Mary's.

8. St. Mary Magdalen's, 2. All Saints,

9. St. Peter's in the East. 3. St. Martin's, or Carfax. 10. Holywell. 4. St. Aldate's, or St. Old's. H. St. Giles's. 5. St. Ebb's.

12. St. Thomas's. 6. St. Peter's in the Bailey. | 13. St. John's. 7. St. Michael's.

14. St. Clement's. Only three of the churches belonging to these parishes are worthy observation, viz. St. Mary's, AllSaints, and St. Peter's in the East.

St. Mary's stands on the north side of the HighStreet, and is the Church used by the University on Sundays and Holydays. It is well proportioned and handsomely built in the Gothic style. The Porch is in a more modern tafte. The Church consists of three ailes, and a large chancel, which is paved with black and white marble. The Vice-Chancellor fits at the west end of the middle aile, on a throne elevated some


A 3

[ocr errors]

few steps; a little below which fit the two Proctors; on either hand the Heads of Houses and Doctors; below these the young Noblemen.; and in the Area, on benches, the Masters of Arts. At the west end also, with a return to the north and south ailes, are galleries for the Bachelors and Under-graduats; and under the middle ones are seats for the Ladies. The Tower and Spire, which rises to the perpendicular height of 180 feet, is a noble and beautiful structure, and contains a ring of fix large bells.

The room on the north side of the Chancel, lately repaired in the style of the rest of the Church, is now the Common Law School, where the Vinerian Profeflor reads his Lectures.

The Church of All Saints, situated in the HighStreet, is an elegant modern structure, much in the style of many of the new churches in London. It is beautified, both within and without, with Corinthian pilasters, and finished with an attic story and balustrade. There is no pillar in the church, though it is 72 feet long, 42 wide, and 50 high. The ceiling, altar, pulpit, &c. are finely executed. The steeple is remarkable in the modern manner. Its architect was Dr. Aldrich, formerly Dean of Christ Church, The Church of St. Peter in the East, standing near the High-Street, was partly built by St. Grymbald, 800 years ago, and is reported to be the first Church of stone that appeared in this part of England. It was formerly the University Church; and even at present, with a view of ascertaining their original claim, the University attend their sermons in it every Sunday in the afternoon during Lent. The tower and east end are curious pieces of antiquity. In the year 1760 this Church was beautified and new pewed at the expense of the Parish; and in 1768 by a liberal subscription from the Inhabitants and such Heads


of Houses as live in the Parish, the Organ was rebuilt by Meff. Green and Byfield of London.


The PUBLIC SCHOOLS, with one side of the Library on the west, form a square of 105 feet : the principal front on the outside is about 175 feet in length; in the middle of it is a gate, with a magnificent tower.

Three fides of the upper story of the Quadrangle are one entire room, called the PICTURE GALLERY, near the middle of which is a Statue in Brass of PHILIP Earl of Pembroke, by the fame Artist who cast the equestrian ftatue of Charles I. ac Charing-Cress: it is also furnished with the Portraits of most of the Founders of the Colleges, many learned and famous men, several large Cabinets of Medals, and some cases of Books, being intended as a continuation of the Bodłęian Library. Dr. Tanner, Bishop of St. Asaph, gave his valuable Collection of Manufcripts to the University, together with a fum of money to erect proper Cases for them: they are deposited near the entrance into the Gallery; as are Mr. Willis's and Mr. Godwyn's, together with other Collections of Books and Coins.

Dr. Butler, formerly President of Magdalen College, and the late Duke of Beaufort, were at the Expense of new wainscotting the Gallery, since which the Pictures have been cleared and repaired, more advantageously disposed, and their number greatly increased by late Benefactors.

The UNIVERSITY LIBRARY, usually called the Bodleian, from Sir Thomas Bodley, its principal Founder, is a large lofty structure, in the form of a Roman H, and is said to contain the greatest number

of Books of any Library in Europe (except that of the Vatican), a Catalogue whereof is printed in two folio volumes.

The ground, on which the Divinity School is built, was purchafed in the year 1427, the Building begun at the expense of the University, and, after fome intermiflion, carried on and completed by Humphrey Duke of Gloucester. It is eiteemed a moft excellent piece of Gothic architecture, being well proportioned, and finished in high taste, especially its roof. Over the Divinity School the Duke erected the Library, which he furnished with many choice volumes procured from Italy in the years 1440 and 1443, besides considerable additions bequeathed at his death three years after.

In the year 1597 Sir Thomas Bodley repaired the old Library of Humphrey Duke of Gloucester, and in 1599 fitted it for the reception of Books. An additional eastern gallery was begun by him in the year 1610, and another gallery on the west, projected by him, was erected afterwards. He furnished the Library with a numerous collection of books, procured, with much care and expense, from all parts of the world.

Sir Thomas Bodley died Jan. 28. 1612, leaving an estate for the maintenance of a Librarian, &c. as well as for the necessary repairs of the Library: he added also a body of Statutes for the regulation of his new institution, which were afterwards confirmed in Convocation.

Many large and valuable collections of Greek and Oriental Manuscripts, as well as choice and useful Books, have been added to this Library by later Benefactors; particularly the Earl of Pembroke, Archbishop Laud (to whom alone it is indebted for its inestimable Oriental Manuscripts), Sir Thomas Roe, Sir Kenelm Digby, General Fairfax, Dr. Marshall,


[ocr errors]

Dr. Barlow, Dr. Rawlinson, Mr. Saint Amand, and Mr. Godwyn: considerable purchases are likewise annually made at the expense of the University.

The Library and Picture Gallery may be seen in the Summer from eight to two o'clock; and in the afternoon from three to five. In the Winter only till three in the afternoon.

The ARUNDEL MARBLES are now placed to advantage in a large apartment on the north fide of the Schools.

In the Logic and Moral Philosophy School is the Collection of Marbles, Statues, Bustos, &c. which were many years at Easton, the feat of the Earl of Pomfret, and were presented to the University by the late Countess of Pomfret.


as they stand numbered in their present Repository.

STATUE of a Grecian Lady, 7 feet high,

wants both arms: 2 A dicto of Archimedes, 7 feet 2 inches high, wants


an arm.

3. A ditto of a Roman Emperor, 7 feet high, wants ono

arm and the nose. Perhaps modern. 4 A ditto of Minerva, 9. feet high. 5 A ditto of a Roman Emperor, 7 feet high, wants one

arm. Perhaps modern. 6 A ditto of Cicero in the proper habit, 6 feet 9 inches

high. The Drapery very masterly. He bas ibe Su. darium in the right, and the Scroll in the left hand. The Character of the Coantenante Settled Indignation,

in which be seems preparing to speak. 7 A ditto of a Grecian Lady, 7 feet high, wants arms.

-The Drapery falling over the right leg is finely conducted, A.5.

8 A

« PreviousContinue »