Salt to the Sea

Front Cover
Penguin Books Limited, Feb 4, 2016 - Juvenile Fiction - 352 pages

WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2017

It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.

This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.

'Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction' Elizabeth Wein, author of CODE NAME VERITY

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
40
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
1

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - SamMusher - www.librarything.com

I wanted to love this, but I abandoned it about a third of the way through. There were too many characters with too many Secrets but not enough emotional resonance. I just didn't care about any of them, and couldn't keep them straight. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Codonnelly - www.librarything.com

The topic of World War II widely permeates popular literature today, including the young adult genre. Ruta Sepetys’ Salt to the Sea is no exception, although it hones in on a unique aspect of the war ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2016)

Ruta Sepetys (www.rutasepetys.com) is an internationally acclaimed, #1 New York Times bestselling author of historical fiction published in over sixty countries and forty languages. Sepetys is considered a "crossover" novelist, as her books are read by both teens and adults worldwide. Her novels Between Shades of Gray, Out of the Easy, and Salt to the Sea have won or been shortlisted for more than forty book prizes, and are included on more than sixty state award lists. Between Shades of Gray was adapted into the film Ashes in the Snow, and her other novels are currently in development for TV and film. Winner of the Carnegie Medal, Ruta is passionate about the power of history and literature to foster global awareness and connectivity. She has presented to NATO, to the European Parliament, in the United States Capitol, and at embassies worldwide. Ruta was born and raised in Michigan and now lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee. Follow her on Twitter @RutaSepetys and Instagram @RutaSepetysAuthor.

Bibliographic information