Front Cover
Random House, 2011 - Country life - 372 pages
106 Reviews
On the hottest day of the summer of 1935, thirteen-year-old Briony Tallis sees her sister Cecilia strip off her clothes and plunge into the fountain in the garden of their country house. Watching her is Robbie Turner, her childhood friend who, like Cecilia, has recently come down from Cambridge. By the end of that day the lives of all three will have been changed for ever. Robbie and Cecilia will have crossed a boundary they had not even imagined at its start, and will have become victims of the younger girl's imagination. Briony will have witnessed mysteries, and committed a crime for which she will spend the rest of her life trying to atone.Atonement is Ian McEwan's finest achievement. Brilliant and utterly enthralling in its depiction of childhood, love and war, England and class, at its centre is a profound - and profoundly moving - exploration of shame and forgiveness, of atonement and the difficulty of absolution

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Atonement

User Review  - Peetapen - Goodreads

Sometimes, it's all you're going for...the reason for living...the reason for breathing. Love is the single most mysterious thing in the world and nobody understands what it can do and how it can ... Read full review


User Review  - annielaurie -

Hated this book all doom and gloom. Gave it to Goodwill! Read full review

All 95 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

Ian McEwan is a critically acclaimed author of short stories and novels for adults, as well as The Daydreamer, a children's novel illustrated by Anthony Browne. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award, The Cement Garden, Enduring Love, Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize, Atonement, Saturday, On Chesil Beach, Solar, Sweet Tooth and The Children Act.

Bibliographic information