Sidewalks

Front Cover
Coffee House Press, May 13, 2014 - Literary Collections - 120 pages
Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's Watermark and Benjamin's The Arcades Project by a celebrated young Mexican author.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - snash - LibraryThing

This collection of musings and thoughts provoked by travels and locations were thought provoking and delightful, more morose than joyous but always honest Read full review

SIDEWALKS

User Review  - Kirkus

Place, identity and the limitations of language converge in this slim collection of illuminating and incisive essays.In her debut novel, Faces in the Crowd, published in America concurrently with this ... Read full review

Contents

Introduction by Cees Nooteboom
1
Manifesto à velo
35
Permanent Residence
99
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2014)

Valeria Luiselli: Valeria Luiselli was born in Mexico City in 1983 and grew up in South Africa. Her novel and essays have been translated into many languages and her work has appeared in publications including The New York Times, Granta, and McSweeney's. Some of her recent projects include a ballet libretto for the choreographer Christopher Wheeldon, performed by the New York City Ballet in Lincoln Center in 2010; a pedestrian sound installation for the Serpentine Gallery in London; and a novella in installments for workers in a juice factory in Mexico. She lives in New York City.

Bibliographic information