Aesthetic Pursuits: Essays in Philosophy of Art

Front Cover
Oxford University Press, 2016 - Art - 197 pages
0 Reviews
Jerrold Levinson, one of the most prominent philosophers of art today, presents a new collection of essays, following on from his four previous collections, Music, Art and Metaphysics (1990), The Pleasures of Aesthetics (1996), Contemplating Art (2006), and Musical Concerns (2015).

Aesthetic Pursuits specifically complements Levinson's last volume, Musical Concerns, by collecting recent essays not concerned with music, but instead focusing on literature, film, and visual art, while addressing issues of humour, beauty, and the emotions. The essays in Aesthetic Pursuits, which are wide-ranging, will appeal strongly to aestheticians, art lovers, and philosophers alike.

The volume contains seven previously unpublished essays by Levinson, in which the author critically engages with notable contemporary contributions to aesthetic theory.


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Farewell to the Aesthetician?
Aesthetic Contextualism
Toward an Adequate Conception of Aesthetic Experience
Artistic Achievement and Artistic Value
Artistic Worth and Personal Taste
Falling in Love with a Book
Beauty is Not One The Irreducible Variety of Visual Beauty
Emotional Upheavals
Artful Intentions
Defending Hypothetical Intentionalism
Seeing Imaginarily at the Movies
Sound in Film Design versus Commentary

Immoral Jokes

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2016)

Jerrold Levinson is Distinguished University Professor of Philosophy at the University of Maryland and past president of the American Society for Aesthetics, 2001-2003. He is the author of four collections of essays, Music, Art, and Metaphysics (Cornell Univeristy Press 1990, 2nd ed. Oxford Univeristy Press 2010), The Pleasures of Aesthetics (Cornell Univeristy Press 1996), Contemplating Art (Oxford Univeristy Press 2006), and Musical Concerns (Oxford Univeristy Press 2015). He has also published a monograph, Music in the Moment (Cornell Univeristy Press 1998) and is the editor of Aesthetics and Ethics (Cambridge Univeristy Press 1998), Oxford Handbook of Aesthetics (Oxford Univeristy Press 2003), and Suffering Art Gladly (Palgrave/Macmillan 2013).

Bibliographic information