The Complete Story of Civilization: Our Oriental Heritage, Life of Greece, Caesar and Christ, Age of Faith, Renaissance, Age of Reason Begins, Age of Louis XIV, Age of Voltaire, Rousseau and Revolution, Age of Napoleon, Reformation

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Jan 21, 2014 - History - 8827 pages
The Complete Story of Civilization by Will Durant represents the most comprehensive attempt in our times to embrace the vast panorama of man’s history and culture. This eleven volume set includes: Volume One: Our Oriental Heritage; Volume Two: The Life of Greece; Volume Three: Caesar and Christ; Volume Four: The Age of Faith; Volume Five: The Renaissance; Volume Six: The Reformation; Volume Seven: The Age of Reason Begins; Volume Eight: The Age of Louis XIV; Volume Nine: The Age of Voltaire; Volume Ten: Rousseau and Revolution; Volume Eleven: The Age of Napoleon

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

If I could give it ten stars, I would. The most complete "synthetic survey" of near eastern and western civilization. Skip your college history, major in something like accounting, engineering, or science, and spend the rest of your life, reading and rereading Durant. He was a total liberal arts education in 11 volumes.
I've read and listened to these thousands of pages several times for over three years. You will relearn philosophy, morals, politics, religion, art, and how these build, destroy, and rebuild and maintain our human existence in our search for meaning.
Durant began writing the series in the mid-1930's and ended in the early 60's. His prefaces are well thought, and at times amusing as he kept waiting on the grim reaper to take him before he set-out to write the next volume. He finished 11, ending with the Age of Napoleon, which sets the stage for our modern times of democratic liberalism, political revolution, and the impending industrial revolution.
Miss this, and you've left a hole in your life.


Herodotus IV 64
Maspero Passing 479f Hippocrates Airs Waters Places xviixxii
Febvre L Geographical Introduction to History 322
Diodorus Siculus V xxxv Rickard i 276

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2014)

Will Durant (1885–1981) was awarded the Pulitzer Prize (1968) and the Presidential Medal of Freedom (1977). He spent more than fifty years writing his critically acclaimed eleven-volume series, The Story of Civilization (the later volumes written in conjunction with his wife, Ariel). A champion of human rights issues, such as the brotherhood of man and social reform, long before such issues were popular, Durant’s writing still educates and entertains readers around the world.

Bibliographic information