Missing the Midnight: Hauntings and Grotesques

Front Cover
Abacus, 1998 - England - 181 pages
Jane Gardam reveals again her brilliant diversity and deep understanding of the human condition. In 'Light', an evocative, lyrical piece of magic realism, a beautiful Himalayan girl defies the destiny laid out for her by her mother, but in so doing destroys the village in which she was born. In 'Missing the Midnight', a young woman having failed her exams and lost the man she loves, journeys home to the family she despises, on Christmas Eve. In 'Grace', an apparently ordinary man lives his whole life with a diamond under his skin at the back of his neck, and dies when it is finally removed. Jane Gardam weaves strange and magical occurrences into the fabric of beautifully realised lives in this stunning collection.

Other editions - View all

About the author (1998)

Jane Gardam was born in Coatham, North Yorkshire. Married, with three grown-up children, she now lives in Sandwich, Kent and in a cottage on the Pennines. She is the only writer to have won two Whitbread awards and was also runner-up for the Booker Prize for GOD ON THE ROCKS, which was made into a much-praised TV film. She was awarded an OBE in January 2009.

Bibliographic information