The Couple: 'Genius, funny and thought-provoking. 5 stars' Carrie Hope Fletcher

Front Cover
Bonnier Publishing Fiction, May 27, 2021 - Fiction - 400 pages
0 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
'A romcom with a difference' Sarra Manning

'Funny and clever. I loved every single line' Lucy Vine

Millie lives in a society where being single is the norm. She's happy, she's successful and she has a close-knit group of friends and family (not forgetting her very grumpy cat, Bruce). Her life is perfectly organised and she likes it that way. The last thing she needs is romance messing it up, thank you very much.

That is, until she is partnered with a new colleague, Ben. He's everything Millie's not; spontaneous, chaotic and disorganised, not to mention annoyingly attractive. Together they're tasked with launching a revolutionary new pill that prevents you from falling in love.

So, when Millie starts to develop feelings for Ben, she knows she could lose everything she's ever worked for. Will she risk it all for love?

Perfect for fans of Laura Jane Williams and Dawn O'Porter

'So clever. I loved it' Sophie Cousens

'Fresh and funny. A total joy to read' Hannah Tovey

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2021)

Helly Acton is a copywriter from London with past lives in the Middle East, Africa and Australia. Born in Zimbabwe, Helly and her family emigrated to the East Sussex coast when she was fifteen years old. Here, she finished school and spent her holidays in Saudi Arabia, where her father was working. She studied Law at King's College London before following a more creative path into advertising.

In her mid-twenties, Helly escaped the rat race and took a three-month career break to travel in Africa, India and Asia before landing in Australia. What was supposed to last one year ended up lasting six, and after a life-affirming break up in Sydney, she returned home to find herself the last of her single friends. Helly threw herself into the deep end of online dating in the city and uses this experience as a single woman in her early thirties, torn between settling down and savouring her independence, as a source of inspiration for her stories.

Helly currently lives in London with her husband, Chris, and their dog child Milo.

Bibliographic information