« PreviousContinue »
his estates to his only surviving daughter, Elizabeth, wife of John Robarts, Earl of Radnor, with a remainder in failure of issue, to his relation John Boulter, Esq., who took possession of Harewood on the decease of this Countess, in 1696. His trustees, about the year 1721, sold the Manor with its appurtenances, to Henry Lascelles, Esq., father of the late Lord Harewood, who died October 6, 1753. This nobleman, then Mr. Lascelles, spent the best part of a long life in improving and adorning a situation so peculiarly capable of both. He fixed on a spot rather elevated above that of old Gawthorpe, for the site of a magnificent house, which commanded a rich home view over fields and woods,with one exception all his own property. It was begun in the year 1759, under the direction of Adams : the quadrangle of the stables was built by Sir William Chambers. The grounds were laid out by Brown, whose first contract with Mr. Lascelles, including the Lake, was for £5,500, but this being insufficient to complete the undertaking, a second bargain was made for £3,500 more. This latter sum, however, did not include the expences of planting, which swelled the whole amount to £16,000 : and for this sum one of the most beautiful demesnes in the kingdom was decorated.
Since the decease of the late Lord Harewood, the turnpike road has been diverted, to the equal advantage of the family and of the public; so that the castle is now taken into the demesne, and a widely extended view of Wharfdale, may within the compass of a short walk, be contrasted with the soft and beautiful home scene which opens round the house.
Henry Lascelles of Harewood, and of Hank-hall, left issue Edwin Lascelles, who was created Baron Harewood, July 9, 1790. He was born in 1713, and married, first, Elizabeth, sole daughter and heiress of Sir D'Arcy Dawes, Bart., and by her had issue two children, who died infants. He married, secondly, Jane, relict of Sir John Fleming, of Brompton Park, Middlesex, Bart., and daughter of William Colman, of Gornhey, Devonshire, Esq.; and dying February 24, 1795, without issue, the barony became extinct, and estates devolved to Edward Lascelles, the present Earl, who was created Baron Harewood; June 18, 1796, and Earl of Harewood, and Viscount Lascelles, August 15, 1812.
Wentworth Castle, Yorkshire ;
THE SEAT OF
FREDERICK VERNON WENTWORTH, ESQ.
WENTWORTH Castle was built about the year 1730, by Thomas, Earl of Strafford, whose arms, with the supporters, &c. very large, appear over the centre window of the north front. Other compartments of the centre on this side are filled with ornamental wreaths, baskets of fruit and flowers, and a variety of other devices beautifully wrought. The East front of this noble Mansion is of a more modern character, and was erected by William, Earl of Strafford, about 1770. Its architecture is at once both light and elegant. The portico is supported by six columns of the Corinthian order, and the tympanum of the pediment contains a crest within a wreath.
The Hall, forty feet square, with a roof divided into rich compartments, is supported by handsome Corinthian columns. On the left from the Hall is an antechamber twenty-three feet square, then a bedchamber of the same size; and, thirdly, a Drawing-room of similar dimensions, in which the chimney-piece is adorned with some fine carving by Gibbons.
A list of the most select Pictures contained in the various apartments will be placed at the end of this account.
The right side of the Hall opens to a Drawing-room, 40 feet by 25. . The chimney-piece, supported by two pillars of Sienna marble wreathed with white, has a fine effect. The door cases are elegantly carved and gilt; in this room are three fine slabs, one of Egyptian granite, and two of Sienna marble. The Dining-room measures 25 feet by 30 feet. By a very handsome and lofty staircase we ascend to the Gallery, certainly one of the most beautiful rooms in England. It is 180 feet long by 24 broad and 30 high, and is in three divisions, the largest forming the centre; these divisions consist of very magnificent pillars of marble, with gilt capitals, the entablatures also of marble richly ornamented. In the spaces between the pillars and the wall are statues of Apollo, an Egyptian Priestess, Bacchus, and Ceres. This noble Gallery is used as a rendezvous room ; one end is furnished for music, and the other with a billiard table.
In the Library, which is 30 feet by 20, the bookcases are handsomely disposed, and contain a good collection of the best authors.
The Dressing-room, 25 feet square, is an extremely elegant apartment, and