Page images
PDF
EPUB

Hesleyside, Northumberland;

THE SEAT OF

WILLIAM J. CHARLTON, ESQ.

HESLEYside is pleasantly situated on the banks of the North Tyne, in the parish of Bellingham, in Tindale Ward. The Mansion stands on a gentle elevation; but the ground rises more abruptly at a short distance from the edifice, where the eminences are clothed with very flourishing extensive woods, and a rivulet flows along the bottom of a deep glen; at this spot there is a very romantic walk. The Grounds are laid out with great judgment and taste, and the Mansion commands a fine prospect, including the river, which, rising on the borders of Roxburghshire in Scotland, pursues a wild and romantic course to the town of Bellingham, about two miles distant from Hesleyside, which, backed by the Moors, forms a pleasing termination to the prospect. There is a most excellent Garden, and a handsome Conservatory.

The Mansion at Hesleyside has twice suffered by fire, but was substantially and elegantly rebuilt with hewn stone in the year 1800. The estate of the proprietor within the county of Northumberland is of great extent; he is also in possession of large estates in the adjoining county of Cumberland, which have been greatly improved under his judicious management, and abound with black game, grouse, partridges, &c.

William J. Charlton, Esq. married the daughter of Francis Cholmeley, Esq. of Brandsby, in Yorkshire, by whom he has a large family. He is maternally descended from Sir Edward Charlton, of Hesleyside, created a Baronet by King Charles I. at Oxford, 6th March, 1646. The mother of the present possessor of the estate was a daughter of Dr. Fenwick, of Morpeth, of the ancient family of Fenwicks in this county, and his grandmother was the sister of Sir Edward Swinburne, Baronet, of Capheaton.

Arms. Or, a lion rampant, gules.

THE SEAT OF

SIR JOHN EDWARD SWINBURNE, BART.

F.R.S. F.A.S. LOND. AND PERTH, PRES. A.S. NEWCASTLE, ETC. ETC.

CAPHEATON is situated about eighteen miles from Newcastle-upon-Tyne. The property has been in the uninterrupted possession of the family for above five hundred years. The present Mansion was built by Robert Trollope, who was also the architect of the old Exchange at Newcastle. It was constructed on the site and from the materials of the ancient Castle of the Swinburnes, (which is mentioned by Leland, temp. Henry VIII.) and completed in 1668. Three of the fronts are in their original state; but considerable additions have been made to the house by the present owner. The Library is fifty-six feet long, and contains a large and very valuable collection of books, prints, &c. The House is well sheltered by thriving woods and plantations; the walks, pleasure-grounds, and gardens are extensive, and derive considerable ornament from a large piece of water, of above eighty acres, planned and executed by the late Sir E. Swinburne.

The family takes its name from their ancient patrimony, Swinburne Castle, Northumberland. John Swinburne, Esq. of Capheaton, for his attachment to the royal cause, had a Baronet's patent granted him by Charles the First, but it was never taken out. He married, for his third wife, Anne, daughter of Sir Charles Blunt, of Maple Durham, and by her had issue a son, John, who was created a Baronet in 1660, and married Isabel, daughter and heiress of Henry Lawson, Esq. of Brough, by whom he had issue thirty children. Sir John died in 1706, and was succeeded by his eldest surviving son, Sir William, who married Mary, daughter of Anthony Englefield, Esq. of White Knights, Buckinghamshire, by whom he had issue three sons. He died in 1716, and was succeeded by his eldest son, Sir, John, who was born in 1698, and married Mary, daughter of Sir Henry Bedingfield, Bart. by whom he had a numerous issue. His third son was Henry Swinburne, Esq. of Hamsterley, Durham, brother to the two succeeding Baronets, who was born in 1743, and was the author of the celebrated Travels in the Two Sicilies and in Spain. He died in Trinidad in 1803. Sir John died in 1744-5, and was succeeded by his eldest surviving son, Sir John, who died in 1763, without issue, and was succeeded by his brother, Sir Edward Swinburne, the father of the present Baronet. Sir Edward was born in 1736, and married Christina, daughter of Robert Dillon, Esq, by whom (who died 13th August, 1768) he had issue John Edward, born in 1762; Robert, born in 1763, a General in the Austrian service; Henry, born 1764, and died 1767; Edward, born 1765; Thomas, born 1767, and died young; and Christina, born in 1768, married to John Clavering, Esg, of Callaby, Northumberland, and died 1817.

Sir Edward died 2nd Nov. 1786, and was succeeded by his eldest son, Sir John Edward, the present Baronet, who married, 13th July, 1787, Emily, the daughter of Richard Henry Alexander Bennet, Esq. of Beckenham, in Kent, and niece to the Duchess Dowager of Northumberland, the Countess of Beverley, the Marchioness of Exeter, and Lord Gwydir. They have issue Edward Swinburne, Esq. born in 1788; Charles Swinburne, Esq. and four daughters ; to one of whom, Miss E. Swinburne, the proprietors are indebted for the beautiful drawing from which the annexed engraving was made.

About the year 1747, a great number of Roman coins and vessels of silver were found near Capheaton, by some workmen employed in making a hedge. The coins were all privately sold, as were also most of the vessels. After breaking the bottoms out of some, and the ornaments and handles off others, one cup entire, weighing twenty-six ounces, the bottoms of three others, three handles adorned with beautiful figures in relief, part of another carved handle, a figure of Hercules and Antæus wrestling, and a figure of Neptune, were restored to Sir John Swinburne, the grandfather of the present Baronet. These have all been described and engraved in a late volume of the Archæologia.

[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][merged small][merged small]

Clumber, Hottinghamshire;

THE SEAT OF

HENRY PEL HAM CLINTO N.

DUKE OF NEWCASTLE.

CLUMBER PARK is situated in the immediate vicinity of Sherwood Forest, about four miles from Worksop, and seven from Retford. The House was erected in 1767, from the designs of Mr. Stephen Wright, and is built wholly of stone quarried on the estate.

The building forms nearly a quadrangle; the four corners being occupied by the state drawing-room, state dining-room, library, and kitchen, each measuring fortyeight feet by thirty-three. The principal staircase is oval, and of the most pleasing construction, but rather unfortunately placed for effect on entrance.-To mention every apartment that contains somewhat rare or valuable, would be to enumerate nearly the whole, which amount to one hundred and five.

The collection of paintings is of considerable extent and excellence. In the state dining-room are four very large Market Pieces, beautifully painted by Snyders ; Dead Game, finely painted by Weeninx; and some Landscapes, by Zucharelli. In the state drawing-room are, the Discovery of Cyrus, by Castioglione; Rinalde and Armida, by Vandyck ; St. George, by Rubens; a Combat of a Lion and a Boar, extremely fine, by Snyders; and the Virgin attended by Angels, by Michael Angelo. In the other apartments are some of the finest productions of Guido, Corregio, Teniers, Vander Meulen, Van Oost, Old Francks, Gainsborough, Sir Joshua Reynolds, Wheatly, &c. &c.

To the north-west wing is attached an elegant chapel, in which are four large windows, painted by Peckitt, of York, said to have cost £800 each. The general effect of these is extremely beautiful.

The gardens and stables are worthy the notice of the visitant; indeed, there is nothing necessary for such a mansion that is not here on the most extensive scale.

The park is nearly thirteen miles in circumference, and has, as well as the house and gardens, been embellished and greatly improved by the present Duke.

The name of Clumber is not a modern appellation to this spot. Lib. Doomsd. mentions, that in Clumber were two manors of Roger de Buisli, which, before the Conquest, Adeluvol and Ulchil had ; and, according to the Regist. de Welbec. vii. 60: “The wodds of Clumber were of the soccage of Maunsfield and Wodehouse, and the bound began at Southones, and extended itself by the way which is called Kirkgate, and led to Worksop.”

In the noble and ancient line of Clinton, from Renebaldus de Villa Tancredi, Chamberlain to King William the First, whom he accompanied to England, whose son took the present name from Clinton, now Glympton, near Woodstock, in the county of Oxford, are some of our bravest warriors, whose prowess was so severely felt by our neighbours during the splendid warfare of our Edwards and Henrys. John de Clinton attended King Edward I. against the Scots, and, for his services, the king, by letters patent, styling him “ his beloved esquire,” granted to him lands, part of the possessions of Malcolm Dromond, to the annual value of forty pounds, He attended Edward Prince of Wales, into France, at the king's special command.

Henry, Earl of Lincoln, grandfather to the present Duke, married Catherine, eldest daughter and co-heir of the Rt. Hon. Henry Pelham, whose brother, Thomas Pelham, Duke of Newcastle upon Tyne, being in 1756 created Duke of Newcastle under Line, with remainder to Henry, Earl of Lincoln, he, on the death of Thomas, in 1768, succeeded as Duke, having been elected Knight of the Garter in 1752. He died Feb. 22, 1794, and was succeeded by Thomas Pelham Clinton, the third Duke, who dying May 18, 1795, was succeeded by his son Henry Pelbam Clinton, the present and fourth Duke, who was born in 1785, and married, in 1807, Georgiana, only child, by his second wife, of Edward Miller Munday, Esq. by whom he has Henry, Earl of Lincoln, and several other children.

(The sketch from which the drawing was made, was taken by T. Willement, Esq. who also favoured the proprietors with this account.)

« PreviousContinue »