Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness

Front Cover
Penguin, 2009 - Business & Economics - 312 pages
1401 Reviews
From the winner of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Economics, Richard H. Thaler, and Cass R. Sunstein: a revelatory look at how we make decisions--for fans of Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and Daniel Kahneman's Thinking Fast and Slow

New York Times bestseller
Named a Best Book of the Year by The Economist and the Financial Times

Every day we make choices--about what to buy or eat, about financial investments or our children's health and education, even about the causes we champion or the planet itself. Unfortunately, we often choose poorly. Nudge is about how we make these choices and how we can make better ones. Using dozens of eye-opening examples and drawing on decades of behavioral science research, Nobel Prize winner Richard H. Thaler and Harvard Law School professor Cass R. Sunstein show that no choice is ever presented to us in a neutral way, and that we are all susceptible to biases that can lead us to make bad decisions. But by knowing how people think, we can use sensible "choice architecture" to nudge people toward the best decisions for ourselves, our families, and our society, without restricting our freedom of choice.

More than 750,000 copies sold

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
198
4 stars
507
3 stars
482
2 stars
172
1 star
42

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - strandbooks - LibraryThing

I finished Nudge and hit my goal of 52 books in 2017. This is the book my work book club is reading for our first meeting. I made the mistake of suggesting a book I hadn't read. Why do I break my own ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Razinha - LibraryThing

Disappointing, particularly given the pedigree of the authors. Simple concept (done better by others, by the way), coined phrase ("libertarian paternalism"?), people need, even want, to have their ... Read full review

Contents

Hum Ans And Econs
17
Resisting Temptation
40
Following the Herd
53
When Do We Need a Nudge?
74
Mon
103
Na´ve Investing
120
Credit Markets
134
Smorgasbord Style
147
FREEDom
199
Should Patients Be Forced to Buy Lottery Tickets?
209
Privatizing Marriage
217
A Dozen Nudges
231
Objections
239
The Real Third Way
255
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Richard H. Thaler was awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Economics. He is the Charles R. Walgreen Distinguished Service Professor of Behavioral Science and Economics at the University of Chicago's Booth School of Business, where he is the director of the Center for Decision Research. He is also the co-director (with Robert Shiller) of the Behavioral Economics Project at the National Bureau of Economic Research and in 2015 was the president of the American Economic Association. He has been published in several prominent journals and is the author of a number of books, including Misbehaving: The Making of Behavioral Economics.

Cass R. Sunstein is the Robert Walmsley University Professor at Harvard Law School, where he is the founder and director of the Program on Behavioral Economics and Public Policy. He is by far the most cited law professor in the United States. From 2009 to 2012 he served in the Obama administration as Administrator of the White House Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs. He has testified before congressional committees, appeared on national television and radio shows, been involved in constitution-making and law reform activities in a number of nations, and written many articles and books, including Simpler: The Future of Government, Wiser: Getting Beyond Groupthink to Make Groups Smarter, The World According to Star Wars, and Impeachment: A Citizen's Guide. He is the recipient of the 2018 Holberg Prize, awarded annually to a scholar who has made outstanding contributions to research in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, law, or theology.

Bibliographic information