Voyager: Exploration, Space, and the Third Great Age of Discovery

Front Cover
Penguin, Jul 22, 2010 - Science - 464 pages
2 Reviews
A brilliant new account of the Voyager space program-its history, scientific impact, and cultural legacy

Launched in 1977, the two unmanned Voyager spacecraft have completed their Grand Tour to the four outer planets, and they are now on course to become the first man-made objects to exit our solar system. To many, this remarkable achievement is the culmination of a golden age of American planetary exploration, begun in the wake of the 1957 Sputnik launch. More than this, Voyager may be one of the purest expressions of exploration in human history.

For more than five hundred years the West has been powered by the impulse to explore, to push into a wider world. In this highly original book, Stephen Pyne recasts Voyager in the tradition of Magellan, Columbus, Cook, Lewis and Clark, and other landmark explorers. The Renaissance and Enlightenment-the First and Second Ages of Discovery- sent humans across continents and oceans to find new worlds. In the Third Age, expeditions have penetrated the Antarctic ice, reached the floors of the oceans, and traveled to the planets by new means, most spectacularly via semi-autonomous robot. Voyager probes how the themes of motive and reward are stunningly parallel through all three ages. Voyager, which gave us the first breathtaking images of Jupiter and Saturn, changed our sense of our own place in the universe.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Othemts - LibraryThing

I've long been fascinated by the Voyager missions to explore the solar system. I kind of grew up alongside Voyager, with the launches occurring just a few years after my birth and the encounters with ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ALinNY458 - LibraryThing

I really wanted to like this book as the history and science of unmanned space exploration can be fascinating. But I felt like I've been down this road before via Carl Sagan's ground-breaking book ... Read full review

Contents

1 Escape Velocity
2 Grand Tour
3 Great Ages of Discovery
4Voyager
5Launch
6New Moon
7 Cruise
8Missing Mars
FIRST CONTACT
MODERNISM AS EXPLORER
17Cruise
Neptune
19Cruise
20Last Light
21Voyager Interstellar Mission
22Far Travelers

9Cruise
Asteroid Belt
11Cruise
Jupiter
13Cruise
Saturn
15Cruise
Uranus
23 New Worlds New Laws
24Voyagers Voice
25Voyagers Record
26Voyagers Returns
BOOKS AND MAJOR ARTICLES WHOLLY OR SIGNIFICANTLY ABOUT VOYAGER
BOOKS ABOUT EXPLORATION INCLUDING SPACE EXPLORATION
USEFUL WEB SITES ALL ACCESSED NOVEMBER 1 2008
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Stephen J. Pyne is a professor of history at Arizona State University, a MacArthur Foundation Fellow, and winner of the 1995 Los Angeles Times Robert Kirsch Award for Arts and Letters. His book The Ice was named one of The New York Times Book Review's 10 Best Books of the Year. His eleven groundbreaking books include the five-volume Cycle of Fire. He lives in Glendale, Arizona.

Bibliographic information