The Light at the Bottom of the World

Front Cover
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, Sep 28, 2021 - Young adult fiction - 336 pages
From debut author London Shah, comes a thrilling futuristic Sci-Fi mystery perfect for fans of Illuminae and These Broken Stars.
In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures swim through the ruins of London. Trapped in the abyss, humankind wavers between hope and fear of what lurks in the depths around them, and hope that they might one day find a way back to the surface.

When sixteen-year-old submersible racer Leyla McQueen is chosen to participate in the city's prestigious annual marathon, she sees an opportunity to save her father, who has been arrested on false charges. The Prime Minister promises the champion whatever their heart desires. But the race takes an unexpected turn, forcing Leyla to make an impossible choice.

Now she must brave unfathomable waters and defy a corrupt government determined to keep its secrets, all the while dealing with a guarded, hotheaded companion she never asked for in the first place. If Leyla fails to discover the truths at the heart of her world, or falls prey to her own fears, she risks capture--or worse. And her father will be lost to her forever.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - fromthecomfychair - LibraryThing

It's such an interesting premise, but for me the book was too much action with very little reflection. It's 2099, and the world has been flooded for decades after being hit with a meteorite. Everyone ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JennyNau10 - LibraryThing

A watery world is pretty much my worst possible Dystopian setting. I'm no fan of the water and living on a planet that is all water, and no air disturbed me a bit. The writing itself is descriptive ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2021)

London Shah is a British-born Muslim of Pashtun ethnicity. She has lived in Britain's capital for most of her life, via England's beautiful North. On any given day she can be found daydreaming of a different past, an alternate present, or some surreal future. She enjoys drinking copious amounts of tea, eating all the sweets and cakes, strolling through Richmond Park or along the Thames, getting lost on an evening in the city's older, darker alleyways--preferably just after it's rained--listening to punk rock, and losing herself in a fab SFF book or film.

Bibliographic information