A Girl Made of Air: An immersive and magical book club read for 2021

Front Cover
Quercus, Sep 3, 2020 - Fiction - 400 pages

'A captivating tale of love and loss and finding connection in the most unexpected places' Nikki Marmery, author of On Wilder Seas

A lyrical and atmospheric homage to the strange and extraordinary, perfect for fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern.

This is the story of The Greatest Funambulist Who Ever Lived...

Born into a post-war circus family, our nameless star was unwanted and forgotten, abandoned in the shadows of the big top. Until the bright light of Serendipity Wilson threw her into focus.

Now an adult, haunted by an incident in which a child was lost from the circus, our narrator, a tightrope artiste, weaves together her spellbinding tales of circus legends, earthy magic and folklore, all in the hope of finding the child... But will her story be enough to bring the pair together again?

Beautiful and intoxicating, A Girl Made of Air brings the circus to life in all of its grime and glory; Marina, Manu, Serendipity Wilson, Fausto, Big Gen and Mouse will live long in the hearts of readers. As will this story of loss and reconciliation, of storytelling and truth.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - AmaliaGavea - LibraryThing

‘’Let’s begin with hope, then. My words are a labyrinth into which we can wander. As I write these tales, I can follow each path, each fallen leaf, in the hope they might take me to the person I seek ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This was a tough book for me. Perhaps the longest book I’ve ever read although it only had 300 something pages. I can only assess it this way, one would either love this book to pieces or not understand it’s spine even after reading it thrice like me. Maybe when I reach a certain level of maturity I’ll understand what is being portrayed in this one, though by no means is this one not a GREAT book, just too deep for my understanding. 

Other editions - View all

About the author (2020)

Originally from Leeds, Nydia Hetherington moved to London in her twenties to embark on an acting career. Later she moved to Paris where she studied at the Jacques Lecoq theatre school before creating her own theatre company. When she returned to London, she completed a creative writing degree at Birkbeck.

Bibliographic information