Page images

Warleigh House, Somersetshire ;



WARLEIGH HOUSE was built about the year 1814, by its present possessor, from the designs of Mr. Webb, of Staffordshire, architect. The plan admits of very great domestic convenience, while the decorations are derived entirely from the architecture of an early period. The deep bay windows have solid mullions, and the walls are surmounted by battlements. The principal entrance is a neatly constructed Porch, with a pointed arch and buttresses at the angles, which as well as the whole structure is of fine freestone.

The Stables are remarkably commodious, and of very handsome elevation. The situation of this elegant residence is one of the most beautiful spots in the kingdom; and the correct taste of Mr. Skrine has led him to assist nature in developing the peculiar scenes thus afforded.

The House stands on an elevation, backed by rising grounds beautifully wooded, about four miles from the City of Bath, and about the same distance from Bradford, in Wiltshire, on the banks of the River Avon, which enters this County near Claverton, about half a mile from Warleigh House. The vicinity abounds in beautiful walks and rides. The pleasing Village of Bathford is distant about a mile and a half, and Claverton Downs, a fine open tract, stretch to a considerable distance on the North and East. Near the Village of Claverton is Claverton House, the Seat of J. Vivian, Esq.

The Estate, which is in the hundred of Bath Forum, has been in the possession of this Family for nearly three hundred years. The late Henry Skrine, Esq., LL. B., and father of the present proprietor, died at Walton on Thames, in 1803. He was the author of a well known “Tour through Wales and the adjacent English Counties," which has passed two editions, as well as of " A Tour in the North of England and Scotland,” and “A General Account of all the Rivers of Note in Great Britain,” a useful and elegant topographical Work.

The drawing was made by permission, from an original sketch by John Hughes, Esq., of Uffington, Berkshire.

Hinton St. George, Somersetshire ;



Earlies of this atve came inton tulee and

The family of Powtrell were the ancient owners of the Manor of Hinton St. George; and from them it passed into the possession of the Denebands, and so remained for several generations until the marriage of Elizabeth, daughter and heiress of John Deneband, with Sir William Paulet, Knight; upon which the manor was transferred to that ancient family, who were afterwards ennobled with the Barony.

Hercules, Lord of Tournon, in Picardy, who came into England with Geoffrey Plantagenet, Earl of Anjou, third son of Henry II., according to a custom then prevalent, assumed the name of Paulet, or Poulett, from the place of his settlement near Bridgewater. His descendant Sir John Poulett, who died in the reign of Richard II., had issue two sons, Thomas and William; the former, ancestor of the Earls Poulett; the latter, of the Dukes of Bolton and Marquesses of Winchester. It was by the marriage of Sir William Poulett, son of the elder brother, Thomas, with the heiress of Deneband, that the Hinton Estate came into the family of the Pouletts.

Sir John Poulett, of Hinton St. George, the eighth in descent from the above-named Thomas, was created in June, 1627, Baron Poulett; in December, 1706, John the fourth baron was further advanced in the peerage by the title of Viscount Hinton and Earl Poulett. This nobleman stood high in favour at court, in the reign of Queen Anne, and was appointed by her Majesty, First Lord of the Treasury, and Lord Steward of the Household; he was also made a Knight of the Garter. As a mark of particular esteem, the Queen was graciously pleased to become one of the sponsors at the baptism of the Earl's fourth son; who thereupon was named Anne. His Lordship was succeeded by his son John, and he dying unmarried, in November, 1764, his next brother, Vere, the third Earl, became his successor. This nobleman died in April, 1788, when his titles and estates devolved upon his son John, the father of the fifth and present Earl.

Sir Amias Ponlett, who was knighted for his gallant behaviour at the battle of Newark-upon-Trent, in June, 1487, is supposed to have built the noble mansion of Hinton St. George; and indeed it bears all the characteristic features of the period at which he lived.—The South front, which is the View annexed, exhibits an extensive range of buildings in the castellated style, which has recently been considerably improved by the present noble proprietor. The principal carriage entrance is on the west side of the mansion. At the end of the approach, stands a finely proportioned Tower; under a Gothic arch is the entrance to the grand spacious Hall, or Saloon, which, in its construction and elegance, is scarcely to be equalled in the kingdom. This magnificent room leads to an elegant suite of apartments which contain an extensive collection of pictures and other objects of art and virtu. The body of the edifice is principally of stone, and is partially surmounted by a pierced parapet. The gardens attached to the mansion on this side are low, which affords a fine opportunity for cultivating the tastefully laid out grounds.—The park immediately connected with the gardens is on a gentle eminence, from which our View was taken; it commands an extensive prospect over the greatest part of the county.

The parish of Hinton, situated about three miles north-west of Crewkerne, is small. The adjunct of St. George, to which saint the church is dedicated, is generally used to distinguish this from several other towns in the county of the same name. The Living is a Rectory in the Deanery of Crewkerne, and in the gift of Earl Poulett. The following 'notice of the Manor of Hinton is extracted from the Domesday survey :

“ William himself holds Hantone. In the time of King Edward it gelded for thirteen hides. The arable is twelve carucates. Thereof in demesne are five hides, and there are four carucates, and five servants and sixteen villanes, and twenty-four cottagers with ten ploughs. There are two mills of seven shillings and sixpence rent, and sixty acres of meadow. A wood one mile in length and half a mile broad."

John Poulett, Earl Poulett, Viscount Hinton of Hinton, St. George, in the county of Somerset, was born in July, 1783; and succeeded his father, John the late Earl, in January, 1819. In September, 1820, his Lordship married Charlotte-Fanny-Lucy, daughter of Henry Berkeley Portman, Esq., of Bryanston House, and M.P. for the county of Dorset. Viscount Hinton, his Lordship's eldest son, born in June, 1821, is heir-presumptive to the titles and estates. A second son, named Vere, was born in August, 1822.

Motto :-Gardez ta foy. *** Here is a very valuable collection of Pictures belonging to Lord Poulett, as well as at the

Dowager Lady Poulett's house in Piccadilly.

[graphic][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][merged small][merged small][merged small][graphic][subsumed][merged small][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors]
« PreviousContinue »