Page images
PDF
EPUB

Enmore Castle, Somersetshire :

THE SEAT OF THE RIGHT HON. JOHN PERCEVAL,

EARL OF EGMONT.

THE situation of Enmore Castle is on a gently rising ground in the midst of a fine enclosed country, about five miles from Bridgewater, and eight from Taunton. The present Mansion-house was built by John Perceval, first Earl of Egmont, on the spot where formerly stood the old family residence of the Malets. It is a large quadrangular embattled pile, constructed of a dark reddishcoloured stone, flanked at each angle by a low square machiolated tower; with bastion and two circular towers and drawbridge at the principal entrance leading to a spacious court yard (See the annexed Engraving.) The offices are under ground, and look out upon a dry fosse, forty feet wide, and sixteen feet deep, which surrounds the Castle. On the opposite side of the fosse, under the lawn, is another range of buildings, consisting of the stables and out-houses, the entrance to which is found at the side of the hill, on the approach to the mansion. The interior of the Castle is splendidly fitted up, and contains many family portraits, and, among other objects of interest, the Bed on which the late Queen Caroline expired.

Enmore, in the time of the Conqueror, belonged to Roger de Curcelle, son of Wandril de Leon, of a noble Norman family. Shortly after, the Estate became the property of the Malet family, in whose possession it remained for several centuries. William Malet, or Mallet, the first of that name of whom mention is made in history, was a distinguished partisan on the Norman side, at the battle of Hastings, and with others was deputed by William, to see the body of Harold decently interred after the engagement. He left issue two sons, Robert and Gilbert, the latter of whom succeeded his father in the Somerset Estates. This Gilbert was a great favourite with King William, by whom he was appointed High Chamberlain of England; the king likewise granted him estates in several parts of the kingdom. In the dispute between Henry I., and his brother, Robert, Duke of Normandy, Gilbert Mallet sided with the latter whereupon he was stripped of his possessions, and banished the kingdom. His grandson, William, was the last in the male branch of the Mallet family.

In an ancient record of the twelfth century, mention is made of Baldwin Mallet de Enmore. This Baldwin was the son of Hugh Mallet, whose father, William, a distant relation of the abovementioned Gilbert, had been included in the same sentence of banishment. William left two sons, the latter of whom, named Hugh, during the disgrace of his father, assumed the name of Fitchet, and from him descended many families who settled in the west of England, and retained that cognomen. Upon the reconciliation of the family to the king's favour, Baldwin, the eldest son of Hugh, again took the surname of Mallet, and located at Enmore, which ever after became the family residence. Baldwin married Emma, daughter of Ralph de Neville, by whom he left issue Sir William Mallet, who was possessed of Enmore in the time of Richard I.

Elizabeth, daughter and heiress of John Mallet, who died in the reign of Charles II., married John Wilmot Earl of Rochester, and by him, who died in 1684, she had three daughters, the eldest of whom, named Anne, married Henry Bayntum, Esq., of Spy Park, in the County of Wilts. This manor in consequence came into the Bayntum family, and from them it descended to Sir Edward Bayntum Rolt, Bart., who, by virtue of an Act of Parliament, sold the same, with other estates, to James Smith, Esq., from whom it was conveyed to the Earl of Egmont, grandfather of the present Earl.

John Perceval, Earl of Egmont, Viscount Perceval of Kanturk, Baron Perceval of Burton, and a Baronet of Ireland; Lord Lovel and Holland of Enmore, in the County of Somerset, was born in August 1767, and succeeded his father, John James, the third Earl, in February, 1822. His lordship married, in March, 1792, Bridget Wynn, niece of Thomas, first Lord Newborough, and has issue one son, namely, John James, Lord Perceval, who is his Lordship's heir.

Sir John Perceval, first Earl of Egmont, was created Baron Perceval of Burton, afterwards Viscount Perceval of Kanturk, and lastly Earl of Egmont, in the reign of George II. His Lordship married Catherine, daughter of Sir Philip Parker, of Morley, Bart., whose ancestor, Sir William Parker, Standard Bearer to Richard III., married Alice Lovell, sole heiress of Francis, Viscount Lovell and Holland, who was attainted for high treason in 1485. The right therefore to these titles centered in his Lordship's wife, but, owing to the Act of Attainder, no claim could be preferred. His late Majesty, George III., was however pleased, in May, 1762, to bestow upon John, second Earl of Egmont, the dignity of a Peer of Great Britain, by the title of Lord Lovell and Holland, Baron of Enmore, in the County of Somerset. The late Right Hon. Spencer Perceval, Chancellor of the Exchequer, who was assassinated, was a son of John, second Earl of Egmont, brother to the late and uncle to the present Earl.-Motto: Sub cruce candida.

[graphic][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][graphic][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

Dillington House, Somersetshire ;

THE SEAT OF

JOHN HANNING, ESQ.

DILLINGTON is one of the eight hamlets constituting the parish of Ilminster. The village, though small, was formerly of some repute, as containing a mineral spring, resorted to by numbers of the credulous for the cure of various disorders. At the present day the only object worthy of notice which it contains, is the fine Mansion selected for the subject of the accompanying Plate. Dillington House is situate about a mile north-east of Ilminster, in a pleasant fertile vale, surrounded by a Park, agreeably diversified as to its scenery. The Mansion, from its appearance, was probably built in the reign of Elizabeth, or that of her successor. It is a handsome gabled stone structure; its form being that of the letter E. In the centre of the principal front is an embattled porch, having on each side a large mullioned window of painted glass, which give light to the hall, and other apartments. The rear of the house is sheltered by a gradually rising bank, which also adds considerably to the beauty of the situation.

The Manor of Ilminster, with the whole district, was given by King Athelstan, in 939, to the abbey of Muchelney in this county, founded by Ina, King of the West Saxons; and in the survey ordered to be taken by William the Conqueror, we find it designated as part of the possessions of that monastery. After the suppression of religious houses, this manor coming to the crown, King Henry VIII., by letters patent bearing date the 30th of January, 1538, granted the same to Edward Earl of Hertford, afterwards created by his nephew Edward VI., Duke of Somerset, better known as Protector of the kingdom during this prince's minority. As an act of attainder had passed against the said Duke in 1550, the Manor in consequence reverted to the crown, but was afterwards restored by Queen Elizabeth, to his son Edward Seymour, whom she reinstated in all his father's honours and possessions. This nobleman had two sons, but as they both died in their father's life-time, the estate went to a younger branch of the same family. In 1684 the Manor was sold to Sir Thomas Travel, Edward Ryder, and John Gore, in order to discharge various debts and annuities with which the estate had been encumbered by John Lord Seymour, Duke of Somerset. In 1724 George Speke, Esq., was sole possessor of the Manor, who devised the same by will to Anne, his only surviving daughter, who married Frederick Lord North, by which alliance this estate passed to that very respectable family; and in process of time came into the possession of the present owner.

The parish of Ilminster is in the hundred of Abdick and Balston, on the road leading from Somerton to Chard. It is situated twelve miles south-east from Taunton, and five miles north from Chard.

Wells Palace, Somersetshire;

THE RESIDENCE OF THE

RIGHT REV. GEORGE HENRY LAW, D.D. F.R.S. & F.S.A.

LORD BISHOP OF BATH AND WELLS.

THIS venerable structure stands south of the Cathedral, and bears a great resemblance to the mansions of the ancient military barons. Its walls encompass seven acres of ground, and are flanked by redoubts and half-moons. The whole building is surrounded by a Moat, supplied with water from St. Andrew's Well; and over it, on the north side, is a Bridge leading to the stately Gatehouse, which serves as an entrance to the exterior Court. The Dwelling-house is situated on the east side of the Court, and contains several large and handsome apartments, together with a private Chapel. The accompanying Plate presents a View of the exterior of this part of the noble Palace; the naked windows of which give it an appearance of architectural simplicity.

The Crypt, which for some time had been used as a lumber-room, has been recently cleared out, and converted into a receptacle for articles in mineralogy and fossils, of which the present Lord Bishop has a choice collection.

Proceeding to the south side of the Court, are found the remains of the great Hall, which, Leland informs us, was exceeding fair. It was demolished about the latter end of the fifteenth century by fanatic plunderers, who carried off the lead and other valuable materials. Its length was 120 feet, breadth nearly 70; and it had a handsome arched Porch, with a Vault and Chamber over it.

The Close is a neat building, having, at the south end, next the street, a Hall, with a Buttery and other conveniencies, under which is the arched Gateway and entrance into the Cloisters. At the other end is the Chapel, with a Library over it; and between these two buildings are twenty contiguous dwelling-houses on each side, for as many vicars choral, who are incorporated and endowed with lands and other revenues.

The Cathedral, dedicated to St. Andrew, is situated at the east end of the city, and built in the form of a cross. The greater part of this noble structure was erected about the year 1239, by Bishop Joceline or Welles. The western front is esteemed one of the most superb specimens of Gothic architecture in the kingdom, and is richly decorated with images. In the centre of the transepts is a large handsome quadrangular Tower, containing five bells; the western front is flanked by two smaller Towers. The interior has a very neat and chaste appearance, and contains nine elegant Chapels, the principal of which is that dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary.

In the year 704, Ina, King of the West Saxons, animated by religious zeal, laid the foundation of a Collegiate Church at this place; from which period may be dated the origin of the City of Wells. In 905 Aldhelm, who had received episcopal ordination from Plegmund, Archbishop of Canterbury, was placed over Ina's College at Wells; and the province of Somerset was assigned to him for his diocese. His successor Wilfeline laid the foundation of the Cathedral. John de Villula, the sixteenth Bishop, being strongly attached to the City of Bath, whence he derived his infant fortune, fixed there his pontifical seat about the year 1087, and assumed the title of Bishop of Bath. In the course of a few years this gave rise to violent disputes betwixt the people of Bath and Wells, as to which City should be honoured with the primary distinction; and the matter being referred to the Lord Bishop of the Diocese, Robert of Normandy, he ordained that the See should take its name from both churches conjointly; that the Prelates should be called Bishops of Bath and Wells; that upon a vacancy, each should appoint an equal number of delegates, by whose votes the Bishops should be chosen; and that he should be installed both at Bath and Wells.

Dr. Kenn, who presided over the diocese in the reign of James II., is well known in history as one of the seven Bishops sent to the Tower for refusing to read the king's declaration of indulgence; and likewise for his conduct upon the arrival of King William, when, being called upon to take the usual oaths to the new king, this conscientious divine chose rather to relinquish his preferment than transfer his allegiance.

George Henry Law, D.D. F.R.S. and F.S.A., the present Lord Bishop of Bath and Wells, is a son of the late Dr. Law, Bishop of Carlisle, and brother to that eminent lawyer, the late Lord Ellenborough. His Lordship was consecrated Bishop of Chester in 1812, and upon the death of Dr. Beadon, in 1824, was translated to the See of Bath and Wells.

« PreviousContinue »