Page images
PDF
EPUB

Endsleigh, Devonshire ;

THE SEAT OF THE
DUKE OF BEDFORD.

se advantact too remote fromthe vicinity of the west of Enceixe his noble

ENDSLEIGH is situated on an estate of the same name, belonging to the Duke of Bedford, in the parish of Milton Abbot, Devon. The valuable manor of Milton is the property of his Grace, who has selected an eligible part of its borders for his own residence, and for the cultivation of extensive farms, under his occasional inspection. A Mansion, adapted to receive his noble family, was required, when they visited their numerous domains in the west of England. It was desirable that it should be an agreeable retirement in the vicinity of the Duke of Bedford's principal estates in the south-west, and not too remote from his possessions in Devon and Cornwall. · Endsleigh combines these advantages, as it lies near a sequestered vale, and is at convenient distances from Launceston in the west, and from Tavistock in the east, and from Plymouth towards the south. A new way was constructed, at the expense of his Grace, to conduct from the Launceston road through his own grounds to Endsleigh. In following this interesting way to the place of its destination, pasture and arable lands are seen, in the highest state of culture, on both sides of it; the pleasantly situated village of Milton attracts observation; and as it approaches the Lodge on the brow of a hill, the most spacious views are gradually presented of the green fields of Devon, and, in distant perspective, of the wild woods and rocky eminences of Cornwall. In its gentle descent through new plantations, on a verdant declivity, different prospects are obtained of the river Tamar, on whose banks this rural habitation is erected.

The building commenced in 1810, under the personal auspices of the Duke and Duchess of Bedford ; it consists of a group of rural edifices, built in the cottage style of architecture, conformably to a design of Jeffrey Wyatt, Esq., who has executed it in a manner that reflects the highest credit on his judgment and taste.

In the rear of the house, an open porch of granite is placed before the Entrance Hall. From the middle compartment, appropriated to the use of the Duke and Duchess, a passage leads to the right wing, which is accommodated to the younger branches of the family. In the left wing are appropriate offices. The contour of the building is irregular, gradually receding from the front towards the wings. It is diversified with rustic verandas, containing odoriforous plants and flowering shrubs, and supported by trunks of oak trees as columns, in the order, as may be supposed, of the primitive Doric. The woodbine, the ivy, and the honeysuckle, grow along the walls, and form natural festoons above the windows; under the shelter of these plants, birds build their nests, and cheer the scene with their notes.

The chief apartments on the ground floor are lined with wainscot; and the furniture corresponds in all respects with the exquisite simplicity of the habitation. The internal decorations are perfectly appropriate.' The Library is stored with select books in divers languages. Over the chimney-piece is an alto-relievo, by Mrs. Wilmot-" The fall of Phaeton.” In the small room within the Library, are the armorial bearings of Ordulph, the son of Ordgar, Earl of Devonshire, founder of Tavistock Abbey ; 2ndly the arms of the Abbey of Tavistock. In the window of the Dining-room are the armorial bearings of different Earls of Bedford, with those of their respective Countesses. In the fourth division are the arms of William, Lord Russell, who was unjustly beheaded in the reign of Charles II., with those of his Lady, the celebrated Rachel Lady Russell, daughter of the virtuous Earl of Southampton. Lord William was son of the fifth earl and first Duke of Bedford. In the sixth compartment are the arms of Francis, Marquess of Tavistock, father to the present Duke of Bedford, with those of his Lady, Elizabeth, daughter of William, second Earl of Albemarle. In the Drawing-room and Ante-room are several landscapes, &c., executed by various artists. There are fine views of Cintra, in Portugal, taken on the spot.

From a singularly beautiful grass terrace, on a level with the house, the most commanding view is presented of the surrounding scenery, which no pen or pencil is able to delineate. The Tamar, bursting from a lofty wood towards the north-west, rolls with impetuosity along the borders of another wood, opposite to the house, and disappears, as it seems to enter, by a rapid descent, into a deep forest towards the south.

those of his arms of Franchise of the

[blocks in formation]

Ford House, Devonshire;

THE RESIDENCE OF

AYSHFORD WISE, ESQ.

The situation of Ford House is retired, and truly delightful—in the midst of a beautiful lawn, before which is a small Park. The whole is about one mile south of Newton Abbot, and at the foot of Milber Down.

The neighbourhood abounds with some of the most beautiful prospects that can, perhaps, be found in the whole kingdom. The river Teign, which rises in Dartmoor, is here navigable, and gives great variety to the scene by the passing sails; many parties of pleasure from Teignmouth availing themselves of the gratification afforded by an aquatic excursion to Ford House.

The House itself gives a most exact idea of the residences of the gentry in the reign of James I; it having been built at that period, by Sir Richard Reynell, knight, an eminent lawyer. It exhibits, throughout, the style of architecture in use previous to the introduction of the simplicity, harmony, and proportion displayed in the classical erections of more recent times, though far superior in point of accommodation to the fortified dungeons of the previous era. In the interior, much judgment is shewn in the disposition of the many apartments it contains; the centre of the house is occupied by a roomy staircase, with massive balusters. On the exterior, we find the principal Front thickly perforated with enormous square windows, having the lights divided by stone mullions; the parapet is formed into circular pediments; and lofty clustered chimneys, with the cupola in the centre, crown the whole. ..King Charles I. with his suite, took up his abode here in the year 1625; and one day after dinner, in the great dining-room, conferred the honour of knighthood upon Richard Reynell, of West Ogwell, in this county, and Thomas Reynell his brother, who at that time was sewer to His Majesty's person; saying unto them, “God give you joy.”

Lucy, daughter and heiress of Sir Richard Reynell (who built Ford House) became the wife of Sir William Waller, the famous parliamentary general. In the abbey church at Bath, is the monument of this his first wife, upon which are the statues of Sir William and his Lady; and there is a tradition, that when King James II. visited the abbey, he defaced the nose of Sir William Waller, upon this monument. Sir William himself was, however, buried in the chapel in Tothillstreet, Westminster.

The daughter and heiress of Sir William Waller married Sir William Courtenay, a direct ancestor of the present Lord Viscount Courtenay; and it is observable, that they were married so young, that they could not make thirty between them at the birth of their first child. A little before the restoration of King Charles II. he was instrumental in raising a gallant troop of horse, of one hundred and twenty gentlemen, all persons of good quality and estates; with which he secured and disarmed disaffected persons, and brought the county of Devon into due subjection. In the year 1664, he was high sheriff of Devonshire, and knight of the shire in several parliaments of King Charles II.

Ford House was inhabited for a considerable time by the family of Courtenay, but at present it is occupied by Ayshford Wise, Esq. who has, by skilful repairs, retained its original interesting appearance, and increased the accommodation by judicious alterations of the original arrangement of the interior.

Near the House is a charitable institution, called the “Widowe's House,” bearing this inscription on its front.

“Is't strange a prophet's widowe poore shoulde be?

If strange, then is the Scripture strange to thee.” This was founded by Lady Lucy, wife of Sir Richard Reynell, for the reception of four clergymen's widows, each of whom was to receive an annuity of five pounds; yet the feoffees have altered the original institution, and only two widows are now admitted, with a salary of ten pounds each, yearly.

In the neighbouring church of Wilborough is a pew allotted to these matrons, aver which is a curious account of the necessary qualifications they must possess, and the rules they are to observe, to entitle them to the residence and annuity.

“They shall be noe gadders, gossupers, tatlers, talebearers, nor given to reproachful words, nor abusers of anye. And noe man may be lodged in anye of, said houses; nor anye beare, ale, or wyne, be found in any of ; the said houses,” &c.

[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][merged small][merged small][graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors]

Lullworth Castle, Dorsetshire ;

THE SEAT OF
THOMAS WELD, ESQ.

LULLWORTH CASTLE is situated about twelve miles from Weymouth, and about a mile and a half from the sea. It is a noble pile of building in the castellated style, and was erected between the years 1588 and 1609, by the Earl of Suffolk, (one of the Howard family,) but having been injured in the civil wars by the devastations of the soldiers, the interior decorations were not completed until after the purchase of the estate by Humphrey Weld, Esq. in the year 1641. It is an exact cube of 80 feet, with a round tower at each corner, 30 feet in diameter, rising 16 feet above the walls.—The Mansion has three stories, but the towers four; in each front are three rows of four windows; in the towers are four rows of three each, exclusive of the offices, which are under ground and arched with stone. The walls, which are embattled, are six feet thick.–The Hall and Dining-room are large and handsome; the apartments in general spacious and lofty; and in some of them are a few good family portraits, by Sir Peter Lely. Our View exhibits the principal or eastern front of this noble Mansion. Before it is a làwn leading to the landing-place, which is guarded by a balustrade of stone, and called the Cloisters. This walk, which is also continued along the north and south sides, is paved with the stones taken from the Cloisters of Bindon Abbey, in this vicinity; and hence the origin of the name. On the western side is a Terrace of the same height with the Cloisters. Over the door, which is supported by pillars of the Ionic order, are the statues of two ancient Romans in their gowns; and on each side is a large niche, and over them two shields, on which are the arms of Weld properly blazoned. In the niches are the statues of Music and Painting. The Tower of the Parish Church, which stands in the south of the Mansion, is also included in our View.

The Manor of East Lullworth, on which this edifice is situated, appears to have given its name to its ancient possessors, the De Lolleworths, who sold it in the reign of Edward I. to the Newburgh family, and they held it till the time of Henry VIII. Christiana de Newburgh, heiress of the family, conveyed it by marriage to her husband, Sir John Marney, a female descendant of whom again transferred it to the Howards, and of them Humphrey Weld, Esq. the lineal ancestor of the present proprietor, purchased it.

During the possession of the late proprietor, who was a Roman Catholic, a fraternity of Monks of the order of La Trappe, who had been expelled from France at the time of the Revolution, found refuge on his estate, and occupied as a Monastery, during several years, some extensive farmbuildings, fitted up and enlarged for the purpose. Upon the death of the late Thomas Weld, Esq. the estate descended to his son, who, it is reported, has since retired into a monastery. The Castle was afterwards inhabited by Mr. Baring; this gentleman was unfortunately drowned by the upsetting of a small boat off the coast, and within sight of his family. More recently, the Right Honourable Robert Peel, one of his Majesty's principal Secretaries of State, has been an occupant of Lullworth Castle. At present it is rented by his Royal Highness the Duke of Gloucester.

The Mansion has been repeatedly honoured by the visits of Royalty. King James I. was here entertained in 1615. And in 1665, when London was devastated by the great plague, King Charles II. accompanied by the Dukes of York and Monmouth, made a short stay at Lullworth. This stately pile was justly admired by his late Majesty George III. who paid it more than one visit. In 1789, that Monarch, together with the Queen and three elder Princesses, came by sea from Weymouth, and took up their residence here for a few weeks. In 1791, the same royal party repeated their visit by land, and spent several hours in examining the castle and grounds. In 1792, their Majesties, accompanied by the Prince of Wales, five of the Princesses, and other members of the royal family, paid a third visit to this noble Mansion. In commemoration of these royal visits, the worthy owner caused two Latin inscriptions, on oval stones, to be placed over the door of the principal front of the Castle.

The adjoining village of West Lullworth, or Lullworth Cove, as it is commonly called, is remarkable for the romantic appearance of the rocks, which are worn into various curious forms. The remains of the Abbey of Bindon, which, with the adjoining grounds, form a sort of appendage to the domain of Lullworth, are now preserved with care from further spoliation. Trees have been planted, and the fish-ponds cleared out and stocked with fish: in short, the extent and plan of the Abbey may be clearly traced.

In point of uniformity, Lullworth Castle is not to be surpassed. The large gardens and groves that surround it, add greatly to the beauty and grandeur of the place. It commands a fine prospect of the sea from an opening between the hills; and from the top of the house there is an extensive view to the north and east. The late proprietor, Thomas Weld, Esq. built and fitted up a very neat private Chapel, for the use of family worship. He also erected an elegant Gothic building, or hermitage, for the accommodation of parties resorting to view the ruins of the old Abbey.

« PreviousContinue »