Web Of Deceit: Britain's Real Foreign Policy

Front Cover
Random House, Sep 4, 2008 - History - 528 pages
1 Review

In his explosive new book, Mark Curtis reveals a new picture of Britain's role in the world since 1945 and in the 'war against terrorism' by offering a comprehensive critique of the Blair government's foreign policy. Curtis argues that Britain is an 'outlaw state', often a violator of international law and ally of many repressive regimes. He reasons not only that Britain's foreign policies are generally unethical but that they are also making the world more dangerous and unequal.

The Web of Deceit describes the staggering gulf that has arisen between New Labour's professed commitment to upholding ethical values and the reality of current policies. It outlines the new phase in global intervention, the immorality of British policy in Afghanistan, Kosovo, Iraq and Indonesia and support for repressive governments in Israel, Russia, Turkey and Saudi Arabia. Curtis also reveals Britain's acquiescence in the Rwanda genocide and economic policies in the World Trade Organisation that are increasing poverty and inequality around the world.

Drawing on formerly secret government files, the book also shows British complicity in the slaughter of a million people in Indonesia in 1965; the depopulation of the island of Diego Garcia; the overthrow of governments in Iran and British Guiana; repressive colonial policies in Kenya, Malaya and Oman; and much more.

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Web Of Deceit: Britain's Real Foreign Policy

User Review  - Allix Davis - Goodreads

A must read for anyone interested in what the british governments foreign policies Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2008)

Mark Curtis is a writer, journalist, and independent consultant on foreign policy. He has been director of Policy and Advocacy for Christian Aid and political director of ActionAid, he is also a former Research Fellow of the Institute of Foreign Affairs. Curtis is the author of six books including, The Ambiguities of Power, The Great Deception, Trade for Life and Web of Deceit.

Bibliographic information