Fallen Angels

Front Cover
Orenda Books, 2021 - Bergen (Norway) - 276 pages

Ever-dogged Bergen PI Varg Veum has to dig deep into his own past as he investigates the murder of a former classmate. Vintage, classic Nordic Noir from international bestselling author Gunnar Staalesen.

'Mature and captivating' Herald Scotland

'One of the finest Nordic novelists - in the tradition of Henning Menkell' Barry Forshaw, Independent

'Masterful pacing' Publishers Weekly

________________

When Bergen PI Varg Veum finds himself at the funeral of a former classmate on a sleet-grey December afternoon, he's unexpectedly reunited with his old friend Jakob - the once-famous lead singer of 1960s rock band The Harpers - and his estranged wife, Rebecca, Veum's first love.

Their rekindled friendship come to an abrupt end with a horrific murder, and Veum is forced to dig deep into his own adolescence and his darkest memories, to find a motive ... and a killer.

Tense, vivid and deeply unsettling, Fallen Angels is the spellbinding, award-winning thriller that secured Gunnar Staalesen's reputation as one of the world's foremost crime writers.

________________

Praise for Gunnar Staalesen

'Gunnar Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors. Operating out of Bergen in Norway, his private eye, Varg Veum, is a complex but engaging anti-hero. Varg means "wolf " in Norwegian, and this is a series with very sharp teeth' Ian Rankin

'The Norwegian Chandler' Jo NesbÝ

'Not many books hook you in the first chapter - this one did, and never let go!' Mari Hannah

'Staalesen continually reminds us he is one of the finest of Nordic novelists' Financial Times

'Chilling and perilous results -- all told in a pleasingly dry style' Sunday Times

'Staalesen does a masterful job of exposing the worst of Norwegian society in this highly disturbing entry' Publishers Weekly

'The Varg Veum series is more concerned with character and motivation than spectacle, and it's in the quieter scenes that the real drama lies' Herald Scotland

'Every inch the equal of his Nordic confreres Henning Mankell and Jo Nesbo' Independent

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2021)

One of the fathers of Nordic Noir, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway, in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over twenty titles, which have been published in twenty-four countries and sold over four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Espen Seim. Staalesen has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour) and Where Roses Never Die won the 2017 Petrona Award for Nordic Crime Fiction, and Big Sister was shortlisted in 2019. He lives with his wife in Bergen.

Bibliographic information