« PreviousContinue »
" spotted Purity and Chastity of your Lives and 46 Conversation.”
We hope, by this Time, the Reader is convinced, that so exact a system of Morals could not easily have been produced from the licentious Inventions of the Mafon.
From the Cloyster we go through a narrow Paffage in the north fide, into the Court where the New Building stands. This Edifice is 300 Feet in Length, and consists of three stories besides the Garrets. This Front is supported by an Arcade, which forms a beautiful Cloyster. The whole is deemed an elegant structure. It has considerably the advantage of some other modern Buildings; for in those the upper story is coinmonly an Attic, and consequently the Rooms lower than those of the middle; the Rooms of the upper story here are exactly of the fame Dimension with thofe below; and command a better Prospect. Three other sides were intended to be added; but probably, since the effect of that beautiful opening to the Meadow has been feen*, the Society may think proper, in fome respect, to alter their design.
One unparalleled beauty belonging to this College is the Grove, which seems perfectly adapted to indulge contemplation ; being a pleasant kind of folitude, laid out in walks and well planted with trees. It has in it about forty head of Deer.
Besides the walks which are in the Grove, there is a very delightful and much frequented one round a meadow surrounded by branches of the Cherwell, called the Water-walks, which yields a great variety, some parts of it running in straight lines with the trees regularly cut; others winding, and the trees
* See the Perspective View annexed.
growing little otherwise than aś nature directs. On the west side a beautiful opening is made into the Grove by removing the embattled wall in that part.
This College was founded by William Patten, called WILLIAM of WAINFLEET, from a Village of that name in Lincolnshire, where he was born. He was educated at Winchester School, and was afterwards Fellow of New College. Having taken the Degree of Bachelor in Divinity, he was elected Master of Winchester School, where he continued twelve years, and then was preferred to be Provost of Eton College by King Henry VI. who advanced him to the Bishopric of Winchester in the year 1447, and in 1449 he was constituted Lord High Chancellor of England. In the year 1456 he ob- . tained leave of King Henry VI. to convert St. John's Hospital into a College. 'He appointed a President, forty Fellows, thirty Demies, a Divinity Lecturer, Schoolmaster and Usher, four Chaplains, an Organist, eight Clerks, and fixteen Choristers. The whole number of Students, including Gentlemen Commoners, is about 120.
The Tower, which is so conspicuous from every part of the neighbourhood, and elegant in its structure, was built some time after the foundation of the College, and has been supposed to have been erected either by, or under the inspection of Cardinal Wolsey, who was member of this Society: but this presumption rests only on the opinion fo generally entertained of this celebrated person. No other notice is taken of it in the records of the Society, than that the Tower was begun in such a year, and completed about fix years after. The most advantageous view of it, is from the Physic Garden. The Tower contains a very musical peal of ten Bells. Visitor. The Bifhop of Winchester.
N'the north fide of the High-street, opposite The whole Area, on which this fine College is built, an oblongquare, of 300 feet in length, 220 in breadth, which being divided by the Xall and Chapel, forms two spacious Courts.
The south end, which is the grand Front, abuts upon the High-street, in the middle whereof is a magnificent gate, anvert the statue of Queen Caroline, under a cupola supported by pillars; the rest of the front being adorned with niches; but ne chamber n this fide, except at each end.
The first, or fouth Court, is a handsome quadrangefeet long, 30 brod, having lofty Cloyer,ported by quare pillár,nthewe, fouth, and east. Over the west Cloyster are two stories, consisting of the chambers of the Fellows and Students, an elegant Gallery, and Common Room ; and in that Cloyster is the apartment of the Provost. Over the east Cloyster are also chambers for the Fellows and Students, and fome of those of the late Benefaction of Mr. Michell. The second, or north Court, has the Library over it on the west, and chambers for the Fellows and Students on the north, east, and south. It has lately received considerable improvements, and is now a very handsome quadrange
The Chapel is 100 feet long, and 30 broad. In the arched roof is a piece of painting by Sir James Thornhill. The windows are admirably painted; the subject of that over the Altar, by Mr. Price in 1717, is the Nativity of our Saviour : under which has lately been placed a painting on the same fubject,
a copy from La Notte, The Night, of Correggio, in the Dresden Gallery, esteemed one of the first pictures in the world. It was presented to the Society by Mr. Robson of Bond-street. The fide windows were removed thither from the old Chapel : two on the north side are the last Judgment, and two other on the south the Ascension. The rest are all of old glass, remarkable for the liveliness of the colours.
There is a passage between the Chapel and the Hall from the south to the north Court, the walls of which carry a handsome cupola with eight Ionic columns, and all the proper ornaments of that order. The outside of the whole is a Doric building, and the inside of the Hall beautified with the same order : but the inside of the Chapel is entirely Corinthian, the ceiling of which is not inferior to the rest.
The Hall is fixty feet long, and thirty broad, with an arched roof of a suitable height. It is furnished with Portraits of the Founder and principal Benefactors ; to which has lately been added a Picture of her present Majesty Queen Charlotte. It is extremely well illuminated, and has a chimney-piece of beautiful marble; and there is an opening from the Gallery over the west Cloyster, which seems designed for music; and hither strangers are frequently brought, who desire to see the Society at dinner.
The Library on the west side of the north Court, about 123 feet in length, is a noble building of the Corinthian Order, with a spacious Cloyster to the cast, and the statue of the Founder, and principal Benefactors to the College, in niches to the west, and is adorned with stucco-work by the late Mr. Roberts. It has a splendid Orrery, and is furnished with a valuable collection of books and manuscripts in most languages and sciences. It is also orna