« PreviousContinue »
mented with a cast in Plaster of Paris of the Flo. rentine Boar.
Robert Egglesfield, a native of Cumberland, Confeffor to Queen Philippa, and Bachelor of Divinity in this University, having purchased several tenements in the Parish of St. Peter's in the East, erected there a Collegiate Hall, probably by the encouragement of Queen Philippa, confort of King Edward III. giving it the name of Aula Scholarium Reginæ de Oxon; and on the 18th of January 1340, obtained the Royal Charter for incorporating the Society of this Hall or College ; by virtue whereof he constituted a Provost and twelve Fellows, ordering, that the Provost should be chosen out of the Fellows, and be in Holy Orders; and that for the future the Fellows should be elected out of the counties of Cumberland and Westmorland.
The principal Benefactors, besides the Founder, were King Edward III. and his Queen Philippa ; King Charles I. who gave this College three Rectories and three Vicarages in Hampshire ; Sir Joseph Williamson, Knight, sometime Fellow, who rebuilt part of the College, and left 6000l. towards the finishing of it, besides a valuable Library of books; Dr. Barlow, Bishop of Lincoln, Dr. William Lancaster, and Dr. Timothy Halton, Provosts. Some valuable Exhibitions have been fince founded by Lady Margaret Hungerford, Sir Francis Bridgman, Mr. Tylney, Lady Elizabeth Hastings, and Dr. Holmes. Eight Fellowships, four Scholarships, and four Exhibitions have been established by the late Mr. Michell, of Richmond, and this Institution is called the New Foundation in Queen's College. Several
very liberal donations were received by the Society about fifteen years ago, for the purpose of re-, building the west wing of the front quadrangle, which trad been destroyed by fire; and in particular the sum
of a thousand pounds from her present Majesty, Patroness of the College.
The Members in this College are, a Provost, fixteen Fellows, two Chaplains, eight Taberdars (fo called from Taberdam, a short gown which they formerly wore), fixteen Scholars, two Clerks, and forty Exhibitioners ; together with Mr. Michell's Eftablishment, and a great number of Masters, Bachelors, Gentlemen Commoners, Commoners and other Students; in all about 220.
They have here some extraordinary customs. They are called to dinner by the sound of a trumpet. On Christmas-day a Boar's Head is ushered very solemnly into the common Hall or Refectory, with a celebrated Monkish Song. And on New Year'sday, the Burfar of the College gives to each Member a needle and thread, addressing him in these terms, Take this, and be thrifty. This practice of distributing the needle and thread; Aiguille.& Fil, had, perhaps, in its origin, some allusion to the name of the Founder, Eglesfield.
Vifitor. The Archbishop of York.
PPOSITE Queen's, on the south side of the
High-street, stands University College. The magnificent front extends 260 feet. In it, at proper distances, are two Portals, with a Tower over each. That on the west leads into the old Court, which is a handsome Gothic Quadrangle, of 100 feet square. Over the Gate, at our entrance, on the outside, is a Statue of Queen Anne, and within another of James II. Over the eastern entrance, on the outside, is a Statue of Queen Mary, Daughter to James II. On the south of the western Quadrangle are the Cha
pel and Hall. The Statue of St. Cuthbert is over the door of the Chapel. The Altar Window was given by Dr. Radcliffe, as appears by its inscription, A. D. 1687: the other windows are of fine old painted Glass, well worthy attention. The roof of the Chapel is a well-wrought frame of Norway oak. The Hall, at the entrance of which is a Statue of King. Alfred, has been fitted up in a very beautiful Gothic style, at the expense of many generous Contributors, and is a most complete room of the kind.
From this Court, through a narrow paffage on the east, we are led into another area of three fides, 80 feet either way. It is opened to a Garden on the south. The east, and part of the north fide, is taken up by the lodgings of the Mafter, which are commodious and extensive. In a niche over the Gate on the north, is a Statue of Dr. Radcliffe.
King Alfred in the year 872 erected certain Halls in Oxford, near; or on the spot, where this College stands; and
the Students in them small Pensions ifluing from the Exchequer. But it is certain that these Halls were soon alienated to the Citizens, and that their Penfions were fuppressed about the reign of the Conqueror. But the Founder of this College appears to be William Archdeacon of Durham, who purchasing A. D. 1219, one of the Halls which had been originally erected by King Alfred, and very probably styled University Hall, of the Citizens, en dowed it with lands. A Society being thus eftablished, many other Benefactors improved the revenues and buildings. Of these the most considerable are Walter Skirlaw, Bishop of Durham, who founded three Fellowships: Henry Piercy, Earl of Northumberland, Lord of the Honour of Cockermouth, in 1442, added three Fellowships, to be elected from the counties of Durham, Carlisie and York: Sir
Simon Bennet establifhed four Fellowships and four Scholarships.
As to the buildings, the present spacious and uniform structure was begun to be erected, A. D. 1634, by the Benefaction of Charles Greenwood, formerly Fellow, and was soon carried on by Sir Simon Bennet. Nor were succeeding Patrons wanting to continue so noble a work; till it was finally completed by Dr. John Radcliffe, who erected the whole eaftern Quadrangle at his own expense. He settled on the College bool. per Annum, for two travelling Fellowships, Students in Physic, to improve themfelves in the Medical Art.
The present Society consists of a Master, twelve Fellows, seventeen Scholars, with many other Students, amounting in the whole to about 70.
Vifitor. The KING.
HIS College is situated west of Queen's, and
consists chiefly of two Courts. 1. The old Court is about 124 feet in length, and 72 in breadth,. having the High-street on the south, and the Chapel at the north end of it. In this old Quadrangle is a Dial, contrived by that ingenious Architect Sir Chriftopher Wren, when Fellow of the College, which, by the help of two half rays, and one whole one for every hour, shews to a minute what is the time, the minutes being marked on the sides of the rays, fifteen on each side, and divided in five by a different character.
2. Their grand Court, situated behind the former, is a spacious and beautiful Quadrangle, having the Library on the north, the Hall and Chapel on the