« PreviousContinue »
Chichele, the Founder of All-Souls, a Fellow of this College in Wykeham's life-tiine.
The LIBRARY (fituated on the east side of the quadrangle) consists of two elegant Rooms, one over the other, 70 feet long, and 22 broad; both of ! them well furnished with books, and in the Library are fome valuable manuscripts.
Froin hence we pass through the middle gate into the GARDEN-Court, which widens by breaks as we approach the Garden. This court is separated from the garden by an iron gate and palisade, which extend 130 feet in length, and admit of an agrecabie prospect of the garden through them. In the garden is a beautiful mount well disposed, and covered with a thick shrubbery. Great part of the garden, as well as some parts of the college, is encompassed by the city wall, which serves as a fence, and is to be traced with its battlements and bastions along the north and fouth boundaries of the college.
At the south-east corner of the garden we enter the BOWLING-GREEN, which is neat and commodious. . Opposite to the entrance is a pavilion; on the rights lowering shrubs, and a row of elms to shade the green; and on the left a row of fycamores, which are a great curiosity, being nearly incorporated from one end of the row to the other.
Having conducted our reader to the furthest part of the college, we would recommend a view of the building from the garden, from whence the lower court has a very grand effect; as from thence the wings appear properly displayed, and the whole is seen at a convenient distance. The Perspective View. annexed was taken from the Mount.
This college was founded by William de Wykeham, a native of Wykeham in Hampshire, from whence he obtained the name of Wykeham. His
extraordinary integrity recommended him to the highest trust and favours of King Edward the Third. When young he was employed by that King in most of the buildings at that time carried on by the crown, particularly in the rebuilding Windsor Castle in the magnificent form in which it now appears. He was foon advanced to some of the most considerable preferments in the church, and in 1366 was consecrated Bishop of Winchester, in the 430 year of his age. His advancement in the state kept pace with his preferment in the church. He was constituted Chancellor of England, Sept. 17, 1367. Froissart says of Wykeham, that he was so much in favour with King Edward III. that every thing was done by him, and nothing was done without him. His munificence proceeded always from a constant generous principle, a true fpirit of liberality.
The foundation stone was laid March 5th, 1379, and it was finished on April 14, 1386, when the Warden and Fellows took poffeffion of it. In the year following, St. Mary's College near Winchester was begun, and was finished and inhabited in the year 1393, by a Warden, ten Fellows, three Chaplains, three Clerks, and sixteen Choristers; as allo -two Masters, and seventy Boys, out of whom a certain number were to be annually elected as a supply to New College. Both which colleges this pious and munificent Founder faw completed, making ample provision for the support of each, and giving them a regular and perfect body of statutes. And having survived many years, he enlarged his will with costly legacies of jewels, plate, money, and books, to be distributed throughout the several dioceses in which he was preferred, or had temporal possessions at his decease. He died Sept. 27, 1404, when he was 80 years of age. Wykeham's pious
example has occasioned many eminent persons, chiefly such as had been Fellows of this Society, to be considerable Benefactors to his munificent foundation.
The University Sermon is preached here on LadyDay and Trinity Sunday in the Chapel.
Í'he present members are, the Warden, seventy Fellows, ten Chaplains, three Clerks, one Sexton, fixteen Choristers; together with several Gentlemen Commoners.
Visitor. The Bishop of Winchester.
THIS College is situated north of the Public
Schools and Printing-House; its front facing the gardens of Trinity College. It consists chiefly of one large quadrangle, about 130 feet square.
The Portico, which leads to the Hall, is adorned with the statues of King James I. and Nicholas and Dorothy Wadhạm the Founders. The buildings of this college not having undergone any alteration since the time of the foundation, it has a regularity and uniformity above the rest.
The Hall is a spacious Gothic Room, at the southeast angle of the great Court; and the Library stands on the east of the Hall.
The Chapel is a spacious edifice, at the north-east angle of the same court, and has that venerable appearance fo remarkable in the chapels at New College and Magdalen, having the Ante-chapel at right angles with the choir. What is most admired here is a very large window at the east end, of the Passion of our Saviour, by Van Ling, wherein are a great variety of figures admirably done. The windows on