Page images
PDF
EPUB

of three Colleges, St. Mary's and All-Saints Churches, terminated at the eaft end with a view of Magdalen College Tower, and a beautiful bridge. Every turn of this street presents a new object, and a different view, each of which would make an agreeable picture in perspective; whereas, had it been straight, every object would have been seen at one and the fame inftant, but more foreshortened than at present.

The fecond street is that which runs from south to north, crossing the street already described. The south side is called Fish-Street, and the other the Corn-Market; from whence we pass into Magdalen Parish, and St. Giles's, which form a very spacious ftreet, and in some respects is preferable to either of the former, it having the pleasure and advantage of * the country, though connected with the town. One end of this street is terminated by St. Giles's Church, and adorned with the front of St. John's College.

On the east side of Fish-Street (commonly called St. Old's, by corruption from St. Aldate's) stands Christ-Church College, the magnificent front whereof is extended to 382 feet in length. On the same side is the Town Hall, where the Town and County Sessions, and the Aflizes, are held; which was rebuilt at the expense of THOMAS ROWNEY, Esq. late representative in Parliament, and High Steward

The principal Bridges are, I. Magdalen Bridge, over the Cherwell, being 526 feet in length, by which we enter the town from London. 2. High-bridge, in the western suburb, over the Ifis; consisting of three Arches, 3. Folly-bridge, as it is commonly called, in the southern suburb, on the fame river, where formerly stood an arched entrance, over which was the celebrated Friar Bacon's Study; it consists of three arches, and is, like the rest, entirely built

of the City,

with stone. This is the entrance from Abingdort and various parts of Berkshire.

We must not here omit the many elegant and useful improvements that have taken place, in pursuance of an Act of Parliament obtained in the 11th year of his present Majesty.--The narrow and incommodious pastage at East Gate has been opened, which rend rs this part equal to the magnificence of the HighStreet; and in the year 1779 a new Stone Bridge, at this entrance of the Town, was erected at the expense of upwards of Eight Thousand Pounds.

In pursuance also of the faine Act of Parliament, on the north fide of the High-Street, between St. Martin's and All-Saints' churches, was erected the New General Market, 347 feet long, and 112 wide, equal to any thing of the kind in the kingdoin.

The City of Oxford, with its suburbs, and liberties, consists of fourteen parishes. 1. St Mary's.

8. St. Mary Magdalen's. 2. AU Saints.

9. St. Peter's in the Ealt, 3. St. Martin's, or Carfax. 10. Holyw-1!. 4. St. Aldate’s, or St Old's. 11. St. Giles's. 5. St. Ebb's.

12. St. Thomas's. 6. St. Peter's in the Bailey. 13. St. John's. 7. St. Michael's.

14. St. Clement's. Only three of the churches belonging to these parishes are worthy observation, viz. St. Mary's, AllSaints, and St. Peter's in the East.

St. Mary's stands on the north fide of the HighStreet, and is the Church used by the University on Sundays and Holydays. It is well proportioned and handsomely built in the Gothic style. The Porch is in a more modern taste. The Church consists of three ailes, and a large chancel, which is paved with black and white marble. The Vice-Chancellor sits at the west end of the middle aile, on a throne elevated some

few

A 3

few fteps; a little below which fit the two Proctors; on either hand the Heads of Houfes and Doctors; below these the young Noblemen ; and in the Area, on benches, the Masters of Arts. At the west end also, with a return to the north and south ailes, are galleries for the Bachelors and Under-graduats; and under the middle ones are seats for the Ladies. The Tower and Spire, which rises to the perpendicular height of 180 feet, is a noble and beautiful structure, and contains a ring of fix large bells. The room on the north side of the Chancel, lately repaired in the style of the rest of the Church, is now the Common Law School, where the Vinerian Profesior reads his Lectures.

The Church of All Saints, situated in the HighStreet, is an elegant modern structure, much in the style of many of the new churches in London. It is beautified, both within and without, with Corinthian pilafters, and finished with an attic story and balustrade. There is no pillar in the church, though it is 72 feet long, 42 wide, and so high. The ceiling, altar, pulpit, &c. are finely executed. The steeple is remarkable in the modern manner. Its architect was Dr. Aldrich, formerly Dean of Christ Church. The Church of St. Peter'in the East, standing near the High-Street, was partly built by St. Grymbald, 800

years ago; and is reported to be the first Church of stone that appeared in this part of England. It was formerly the University Church; and even at present, with a view of ascertaining their original Claim, the University attend their sermons in it every Sunday in the afternoon during Lent. The tower and east end are curious pieces of antiquity. In the year 1760 this Church was beautified and new pewed at the expense of the Parish; and in 1768 by a libegal subscription from the Inhabitants and such Heads

of

of Houses as live in the Parish, the Organ was rebuilt by Mell. Green and Byfield of London.

PUBLIC BUILDINGS OF THE UNIVERSITY.

The Public SCHOOLs, with one side of the Library on the west, form a square of 105 feet: the principal front on the outside is about 175 feet in length; in the middle of it is a gate, with a magnifocent tower. Three fides of the upper story of the Quadrangle are one entire room, called the PICTURE GALLERY, near the middle of which is a Statue in Brals of PHILIP Earl of Pembroke, by the fame Artist who cast the equestrian statue of Charles I. at Charing Cross: it is also furnished with the Portraits of most of the Founders of the Colleges, many learnt 1 and famous men, feveral large Cabinets of Medals, and fome Cafes of Books, being intended as a continuation of the Bodleian Library. Dr. Tanner, Bishop of St. Afaph, gave his valuable Collection of Manufcripts to the University, together with a sum of money to erect proper Cases for them: they are deposited near the entrance into the Gallery; as are Mr. Willis's and Mr. Godwyn's, together with other Collections of Books and Coins.

Dr. Butler, formerly President of Magdalen College, and the late Duke of Beaufort, were at the Expense of new wainscotting the Gallery, since which the Pictures have been cleaned and repaired, more advantageously disposed, and their number greatly increased by late Benefactors.

The UNIVERSITY LIBRARY, ufually called the Bodleian, from Sir Thomas Bodley, its principal Founder, is a large lofty structure, in the form of a Roman H, and is said to contain the greatest number A 4

of:

of Books of any Library in Europe (except that of the Vatican), a Catalogue whereof is printed in two folio volumes.

The ground, on which the Divinity School is built, was purchafed in the year 1427; the Building begun at the expense of the University, and, after some intermiflion, carried on and completed by Humphrey Duke of Gloucester. It is esteemed a moft excellent piece of Gothic architecture, being well proportioned, and finished in high taste, especially its roof. Over the Divinity School the Duke erected the Library, which he

furnished with many choice volumes procured from Italy in the years 1440 and 1443, besides considerable additions bequeathed at his death three years after.

In the year 1597 Sir Thomas Bodley repaired the old Library of Humphrey Duke of Gloucester, and in 1599 fitted it for the reception of Books. An additional eastern gallery was begun biy him in the year 1610, and another gallery on the west, projected by him, was erected afterwards. He furnished the Library with a numerous collection of books, procured, with much care and expense, from all parts of the world.

Sir Thomas Bodley died Jan. 28. 1612, leaving an estate for the maintenance of a Librarian, &c. as well as for the necessary repairs of the Library: he added also a body of Statutes for the regulation of his new institution, which were afterwards confirmed in Convocation.

Mauy large and valuable collections of Greek and Oriental Manuscripts, as well as choice and useful Books, have been added to this Library by later Benefactors; particularly the Earl of Pembroke, Archbishop Laud (to whom alone it is indebted for its in. eftimable Oriental Manuscripts), Sir Thomas Roe, Sir Kegelm Digby, General Fairfax, Dr. Marshall,

Ds.

[ocr errors]
« PreviousContinue »