« PreviousContinue »
three entrances. The second story, and the attic above it, are contained in the height of the Ionic order, which refts upon the ruftic. Over the five middle windows in each side is a beautiful pediment, which projects, supported by three-quarter columns of the same order, as the entablature and balustrade of the other parts are by pilasters. On the fourth side of this court is a magnificent LIBRARY, 141 feet long, built in the Corinthian order, the pillars of which are four feet in diameter. Underneath was intended a piazza opening to the square, with seven arches, and an afa cent of three steps running the whole length of the building. This design has been fince altered, for the more convenient reception of the great collection of books belonging to the college. The wainscotting, book-cases, and stucco-work, as well on the staircafe as in the rooms of the Library, are very highly finished, particularly the beautiful festoons in stucco, charged with symbolical imagery, severally representing the particular branch of Literature contained beneath. At each end are marble Busts, one of Dr. Boulter, late Primate of Ireland ; the other of Dr. Freind, late Master of Westminster School. In the lower apartments, both to the right and left, is de. posited the celebrated collection of Pictures given to the college by General Guife; among which are fome from the collection of King Charles I. A Portrait, by Titian ; the Flight into Egypt, by Guido Reni ; the Family of the Caracci's represented in a Butcher's Shop, the most celebrated performance of Annibal Caracci; two Nativities, by Titian; Jesus and St. John embracing, by Raphael ; a Nativity by Raphael; the Fable of Eriethonius delivered to the Nymphs to be educated, by Salvator Rosa; Ve. nus and Cupid, by Titian; St. Francis in a Vision, Tupported by Angels, by Annibal Caracci; an Ecce Homo, by Ludovico Caracci; a Medusa’s Heads
by Rubens ; the Pale of an Altar, with figures, larger than the life, by Corregio; two Half-lengths of Women, by Domenichino.
In the lower Room, also on the right-hand, is a Buft of General Guise over the door ; and on the left is one of the Hon. and Rev. Dr. Trevor, late Bishop of Durham ; and in the entrance to the staircafe are Bufts of the late eminent Physicians Drs. Frewin and Lec. Fronting the stair-case is an elegant Statue of Dr. Robinson, the present Primate of Ireland : and upon a pedestal in the Recess on the north side of the upper apartment, is an admirable Statue of Mr. Locke, formerly Student of this house, by Roubillac.
Canterbury Court, once Canterbury College, is now most elegantly rebuilt, from a plan fuitable to Peekwater, with a superb Gateway, under the direction of Mr. Wyatt, by the munificence of the present Primate of Ireland, and other Benefactors.
The Chaplain's Court is situated south-east of the grand Quadrangle, on the north fide whereof is a large building of new chambers; the walls of which were the Hall or Refectory of St. Frideswide's Priory:
The Court of the Grammar School is fouth of the great Quadrangle, having the Hall on the north side of it: Under part of the Hall is the spacious Com-. mon Room, in which over the chimney-piece is an excellent Bust, by Rysbrack, of Dro. Busby, formerly Master of Westminster School, and a confiderable Benefactor to the College. Round the room are the Pictures of several of the Masters of the same-School, and other eminent members of the Society. On the fouth fide is the new Anatomical Theatre, erected and endowed by the late Dr. Lee, Physician to King George II. at the expence of 20,000l. with a proper ftipend to the Lecturer, &c. In it is a fue collec
tion of Anatomical Preparations and Injections. The wide Gravel Walk, thaded on each side with elms, deserves our notice, being a quarter of a mile in length, and of a proportionable breadth. It commands a sight of Lord Harcourt's Seat, a pleafant prospect of the Meadows, the. Thames, and fome adjacent. Villages.
This College was founded by Cardinal Wolfey, upon the place where formerly stood the Priory of St. Frideswide, which, and several other religious foundations, were diffolved, in order to endow the new College intended by the Cardinal. The defign was far from being completed at the time of the Car. dinal's disgrace, little more being built than the eart, south, and part of the west sides of the great Quadrangle, and the Kitchen. And as to the foundation itself, whatever it might be at that time, 'tis certain it was afterwards lefsened, and the form of it altered two or three times by the King. The disgrace of the Cardinal happened in the year 1529, when the King feized upon this college, as well as the other estates belonging to the Cardinal. In the year 1532, at the instance of Lord Cromwell, the King new-modelled the foundation, and gave it the name of King Henry the Eighth's College. This was suppressed in 1545, and in the year following the Episcopal See was removed from Ofeney to this College, and the Church of St. Frideswide constituted a Cathedral, by the name of Chrift Church,
This foundation has continued in the same form ever since. It consists of a Dean, eight Canons, 101 Students, part of which are elected annually from Westminster School, and the other vacancies, as they happen, are filled up by the Dean and Cao nons; eight Chaplains, eight Singing-men, and as many Choristers, a School-ınafter, an Organist, &c. Since the time of Queen Elizabeth, this College has