Page images
PDF
EPUB

largely experienced the bounty of several Benefactors, particularly Bishop Fell, who left ten Exhibitions of sol. per ann. to Commoners, to be held for ten years from the time they were nominated to them. The rorst Studentship was added by William Thurfton, Efq. 1663, and is now in the gift of the Vernon Family. Several Exhibitions were given by Lady Holford for Scholars educated at the Charter-House, and more by other Benefactors. 1.d,

Vifitor. The KING,

PEMBROKE COLLEGE.

of

DEMBROKE College, fo called from the Earl

, the the time it was founded, is situated near St. Al. date's Church, in a direct line from the grand Gate of Christ Church, and confifts of two finall Courts. The Quadrangle is uniform, having the Hall at the north-well angle, in which are Pictures of the Founders and some Benefactors. The Chapel is a small, elegant building, of the Ionic order, with a beautiful Altar-piece. In the Garden, which is west of the Chapel, is a pleasant Common Room, and a Terrace-walk. The Master's Lodgings, which join to the College on the north, is a modern édifice.

This College, formerly Broadgate Hall, was founded an. 1620, by Tho. Tesdale, of Glympton, Esq. and Richard Whitwick, S. T. B. Rector of Ilsley, Berks, for a Master, ten Fellows and ten Scholars. Four of Mr, Tesdale's Fellows to be chosen out of his relations, and the rest to come from Abingdon. Free-School.

As to Mr. Whitwick's Benefaction, two of the Fellows and two Scholars to be of his kindred, and the rest from Abingdon. School,

King Charles I. granted to this Society the perpetual advowson of St. Aldate's Church, and cerdain lands for the maintenance of one Fellow, to be chosen from Guernsey or Jersey:

Archbishop Abbot, Juliana Stafford, and Francis Rous, were the next Benefactors; and Dr. George Morley, Bishop of Winchester, founded five Scho larships for the natives of Guernsey and.

Jersey. Queen Anne annexed a Prebend of Gloucester to the Mastership. Lady Holford gave two Exhibitions of 20l. a year each ; Dr. Hall, Master of this College, and Bishop of Bristol, built the Master's Lodge ings; Sir John Bennet, Lord Oflulstone, endowed two Fellowships and Scholarships ; Mr. Townfhend gave eight Exhibitions to young Scholars from Gloucestershire; and Sir John Philips, Bart. in 1749; founded one Fellowship and one Scholarship.

The present members are, a Master, fourteen Fel.. lows, thirty Scholars and Exhibitioners; the whole number of Students usually about 70.

Visitor. The Chancellor of the Universitý.

H A L L S. F PIVE Halls or Academical Houses, not incorporated,

are still remaining. Originally the Students lived chiefly in Halls or Hotels,, where Professors and Tutors: refided. But when the Colleges were founded, and Atill more, when' the Reformation took place, the libe. ral education, now in use, brought the Students to the more convenient accommodation in Colleges. These Societies are not endowed, though they have had"con. fiderable Benefactions, which are dispensed to the Students in Exhibitions, which they enjcy for a fated time. They are under the government of their refpective Principalsy. whole incomes arise from the room

rent

rent of the Chambers. The Students take an oath to obey the statutes and customs of the Hall, which ftatutes are made and altered by the Chancellor, who has the nomination of the Principals, and is Visitor of all the Halls, except St. Edmund Hall, which is dependant on Queen's College, and the Principal appointed by that Society.

ST. ALBAN H A L L. I. ST. ALBAN HALL, which is in St. John's Parish, adjoins to Merton College on the east. It had its name from Robert de St. Alban, a Citizen of Oxford, who conveyed the premises to the Abbey of Littlemore. Of this Hall were Archbishop Marsh ; Dr. Lamplugh, Archbishop of York; Benedict Barnham, Alderman of London, who built the Front of the Hall as it is at present; and William Lenthall, Speaker of the Long Parliament.

ST. EDMUND HALL. II. ST. EDMUND HALI is opposite to the east side of Queen's, to which College it is dependant, and has about forty Students. The Buildings were completed, and other considerable improvements made while the late Dr. Shaw, that eminent Traveller, was Principal. Of this Hall were Dr. John Mill, who published the Greek Teftament, printed at the Theatre; and Thomas Hearne, M. A. that diligent Antiquary.

NEW.INN HALL. III. New-INN Hall stands at the west end of the City, near the Church of St. Peter in the Bailey. It was formerly called Trillock's Inn, from John Trillock, Bishop of Hereford, who built it in the year, 1349. Opposite this Hall is the Gateway of a College of Monks of the Augustine. Order, in which Erasmus refided two years. He left an elegant Latin Poem on his manner of living there.

ST. MARY

90 NEW COMPANION FOR OXFORD.

ST. MARY HALL. IV. Sr. MARY Hall is situated north of Oriel Col. lege, near the High-Street. It consists of one Quadran. gle, formed by the Principal's Lodgings on the north, the Hall and Chapel on the south, and on the east and west by the Chambers of the Students.

This Hall was erected by King Edward II, Some Exhibitions have been given to aflilt the Students in the prosecution of their itudies.

Several eminent men have refided and been educated here, viz. Cardinal Allen, Sir Thomas More, Lord Chancellor Hatton, Erasmus, Mr. Sandys the celebrated English Poet and Traveller, &c.

The buildings of this Society have received confi. derable improvements within the present century, the east side having been entirely rebuilt by the contribu. tions of several noblemen and gentlemen educated here ; and the south side of the Quadranglc has been lately raised and finished by Benefactions from the present Principal and other members of the Society. The number of Students is about go.

MAGDALEN HALL. V. MAGDALEN Hall is adjoining to the west side of Magdalen College, to which it is an appendant. The number of Exhibitions given to this Hall supplies it with many members. It was erected by William Wain. feet, the Founder of Magdalen College, and has a large Grammar School joined to it, intended as a Nursery for Magdalen College. The number of Students is generally about go.

OXFORD T E R M S. Hilary Term begins January 14. -Ends on Saturday before PalmSunday. Easter Term begins on Wednesday after. Low Sunday

Ends on 'Tborfday before Whitfunday.

Aa Term begins on Wednesday after Trinity Sunday -—-Ends on Saturday after A&t Sunday. - Michaelmas Term begins Oct. 10. -Ends Dec. 17.

The

[ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]

Late and present Presidents of Magdalen College, 1768. George Horne, D.D. 1791. Martin Jof. Routh, D. D.

Late and present Mafters of University College. 1744. John Brotune, D. D. 1764. Nathan Wetherell, D. D.!.

Late and present Provofts of Queen's College. 1767. Thomas Fothergill, D. D:7 y bara 1797. Septimus Collinson, D.D.

Late and present Wardens of All Souls College. 1767. Right Honourable Lord Tracy, D.D. 1793. Edmund Iman, D.D.

Late and present Principals of Brasenofe College. 1777.- Thomas Barken, D. Dif:15; 1785. William Cleaver, D.D.

Late and present Principals of Hertford Collège. 1757. David Durell, D. D. + 1775. Bernard Hodgson, LL.D.

[ocr errors]
[merged small][ocr errors]
« PreviousContinue »