« PreviousContinue »
you look upon the language spoken in the Saxon time, and the language spoken now, you will find the difference to be just as if a man had a cloak that he wore plain in Queen Elizabeth's days, and since, here has put in a piece of red, and there a piece of blue, and here a piece of green, and there a piece of orange-tawny. We borrow words from the French, Italian and Latin, as every pedantic man pleases.” Again he quaintly says, “ Words must be fitted to a man's mouth. T was well said of the fellow that was to make a speech for my Lord Mayor, he desired to take the measure of the Mayor's mouth.”
President Allen during his term of office, occupied himself with various literary and professional labors. He published numerous sermons delivered on special occasions, for which his services were sought, also the Dudleian lecture at Cambridge, and a discourse on the value of the Bible. He also published his addresses delivered to the Senior Classes of Bowdoin College from 1823 to 1829, also a work entitled “ Juniús Unniøsked,” to prove that Lord Sackville was this “ nominis ümbra," an account of shipwrecks, a duodecimo of three hundred and thirty-five pages, which was a collection of most interesting narratives of perils by sea, also a new edition of Psalms and Hymns, a memoir of Dr. Eleazer Wheelock, and the second edition of his biographical dictionary, containing eight hundred and eight closely printed pages.
On his retirement from the Presidency of the College, he established himself at North Hampton, where he continues, at the ripe age of seventy-three, to pursue with his accustomed ardor and industry, studies and labors which have filled and adorned a long and varied life.
His latter publications have been a report on popery to
the General Association of Massachusetts, a historical discourse on the fortieth anniversary of the second church in Dorchester, 1848, a memoir of the Rev. John Codman, who was his classmate, in 1853; a discourse at the close of the Second Century of the Settlement of North Hampton, October, 1854; “ Wunnissoo,” or the “ Vale of Hoosatunnuk," 1856, with valuable and learned notes, and a portrait of the author, and lastly the preparation of the third edition of his Biographical and Historical Dictionary, a task, which, from its large additions, must have required great research and labor.
The bare recital of his numerous publications, must impress every one with a deep sense of his industry, the versatility of his genius and his scholarly attainments.
Our third President was the Rev. Dr. Nichols, of Portland, who filled the office six years, from 1827 to 1833. Dr. Nichols was the son of Captain Ichabod Nichols, and was born in Portsmouth, N. H., July 5, 1784. Eight years after his birth, his father moved to Salem, Mass., and continued to reside there until his death. He entered Harvard College in 1798, and graduated with the first honors of his class in 1802, at the age of eighteen years. This high honor will be better appreciated, when it is considered that his class, consisting of sixty members, was one of the most distinguished that ever left the halls of that venerable University. Among them were the Rev. William Allen, late Pres. ident of Bowdoin College, James T. Austin, of Boston, Dr. Codman of Dorchester, Dr. James Flint, of Salem, Professor Frisbie, of Harvard College, Samuel Hoar, of Concord, Governor Levi Lincoln, of Mass., Andrew Ritchie, who was his rival for the highest honors, and Leverett Salstonstall; all of whom have occupied high positions in society.
Mr. Nichols, notwithstanding his youth, applied himself with marked assiduity, to the study of the exact sciences, to which his mind naturally inclined; his great proficiency in them commended him, in 1805, to the Faculty of the College, for the office of tutor in Mathematics. On leaving College he had commenced the study of Theology with his beloved pastor, Dr. Barnard, of Salem, and he continued ther during the four years he filled the place of tutor.
On the 27th of February, 1809, having preached four Sundays as a candidate for settlement in the First Parish in Portland, he was unanimously invited to become a colleague with the vencrable Dr. Deane, then past seventy-five years of age. The Parish then contained among its members, Prentiss Mellen, Stephen Longfellow, Ezekiel Whitman, Woodbury Storer, Dr. Coffin, Matthew Cobb, Robert Boyd, George Bradbury, William Wigery, &c., the descendants of whom still occupy the pewa. .
Mr. Nichols was ordained June 7, 1809, the Council being composed of the Cumberland Association of ministers, to which were added some of the most distinguished clergymen of Massachusetts, such as the venerable Dr. Lathrop, Dr. Kirkland, and Mr. Buckminster, of Boston, Dr. Barnard, of Salem, and Dr. Abbott, of Beverly. It was on this occa. sion, that the first open manifestation was made of the division, which afterwards became so wide and inseparable, in the Congregational denomination of New England. Mr. Payson, who had been recently settled over the only other Congregational church in Portland, and was a member of the Council, declined giving the right hand of fellowship" to Mr. Nichols, to which he was invited, and withheld his approbation of him as a candidate, on the ground that his theological opinions were not satisfactory nor sound. Mr. Nichols and the persons who took part in the services, with one or two exceptions, were seceders from the old profession of faith, and having passed through liberal Calvinism and Arminianism, they took the name of liberal christians, now called Unitarians, with a separate and distinct for. mula of faith, denying the received doctrines of the trinity, and the construction given by Calvinists to several other prominent articles of the prevailing creed.
From that time, Mr. Payson declined exchanging with Mr. Nichols, and an entire separation took place in the religious courtesies of the two societies, which has ever since continued.
At that period there was no other acknowledged Unitarian Society in Maine, although there were several that were liberally inclined, and sympathized with it in sentiment. The elder ministers of the two societies continued their friendship, and Mr. Kellogg preached the funeral discourse at the First Parish Church in 1814, on the interment of its aged pastor, Dr. Deane.
After the death of Dr. Deane, Mr. Nichols continued sole pastor, diligently and faithfully discharging all the duties of the pastorate, until the settlement of the Rev. Horatio Stebbins as his colleague in February, 1855.
. Toward the close of that year, finding it necessary for his health to withdraw wholly from the cares of the ministry, he sent to the Parish a resignation of his pastoral office. The Parish were unwilling to dissolve the interesting and affectionate relation which had existed between them for fortysix years, and expressed a desire that while he should be relieved from all the duties of the office, the official charac. ter which he had so long sustained might not be sundered. This was acceded to, and he still continues in form, the senior pastor, although freed from all the responsibilities of the office. The principal members of the parish, to express their interest and affection for their beloved pastor, subscribed to a fund sufficient to purchase an annuity of five hundred and fifty dollars during his life. But Dr. Nichols, with a characteristic disinterestedness and delicacy, declined accepting this voluntary tribute to his worth, from an apprehension, by no means well founded, that it would place him under obligations to render future services and because he thought the gift greater than he ought to accept
We may be permitted in this connection, to allude to the singular history of this ancient society, established in 1718, but not organized as a church until 1727. Thomas Smith, of Boston, was in March of that year, ordained its first pastor. This was the sixth Church established in Maine, and the first east of Wells. Those which were prior to it, were the first church in York, over which the Rev. Samuel Moody was ordained in 1700, who died in the ministry in 1747—the second was Berwick, where was settled in 1707, Jeremiah Wise, a sound divine and able scholar, who continued in the ministry there forty-eight years -- the church in Kittery, over which John Newmarch was pastor from 1714 to 1750; the church in Eliot, over which John Rogers was ordained in 1721, and continued his ministrations fifty-two years; Samuel Jefferds was settled in the church at Wells in 1725 and died there in 1752. Next came the church in Falmouth over which Thomas Smith was ordained March, 1727, and continued in the ministry until his death in May, 1795, at the age of ninety-five, and of a pastorate of sixty-eight years,